nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think I can, I think I can..

My last entry was all about doom-and-gloom and that's truly how I felt. None of the causes to that mood have gone away but I took some time this weekend to wrestle myself back into a somewhat normal headspace, so keep your fingers crossed it holds.
The boys wrestling went as well as could be expected for their first year. They were beat soundly but they did their best and tried their hardest and that's all a mom can expect. I'm very proud of them. Trev's last basketball game was this weekend as well and he was very sad to see it over. He's not the most graceful boy in the world (so much like me that way) but when he gets in the groove of his sport(s), he loses that gangly, graceless way and everything just clicks. It's that way in his relations with other players as well. If you were to watch my Trevor in his classroom or on the playground at school, he sticks out because he's so very solitary. He marches to his own drummer, does his own thing and keeps to himself. He does TRY to make friends but I think it's that he tries too hard sometimes. When he's involved in a sport, be it basketball or baseball or any other, he just fits. There isn't the awkwardness that he lives with daily. I think it's a nice respite for him, definitely a good thing. That's one of the many reasons I'm not happy about them not playing ball this summer. He needs it more than anyone.
We spent some time away this weekend and it was good to get away. We visited the same place we went to for the Heritage Days last Fall, but this time for the Maple Syrup Festival. Besides being educational, it was fun. It was a gorgeous day, warm when the wind wasn't blowing with blue skies and nary a cloud. There were horse-drawn carriages to take us back and into the forest of maples where they had the sugar shack and assorted out-buildings set up. All along the way, there were trees tapped with spiles and buckets. There were demonstrations of how native settlers extracted the sweeteners from the watery sap and even taste tests of primitive maple sugar. The boys were impressed with the inside of the sugar shack, and at the methods we use to turn sap into syrup. They more than gladly tasted the syrup, maple cotton candy and maple corn.
All in all, not a bad way to spend a couple hours in the early beginnings of Spring here.
And it was good to be outside. Fresh air and sunshine do wonders for my spirits.
***
Freya has begun lying in my lap every chance she gets. She was never one to actuallly lay IN my lap before. She'd perch on my hip if I happened to be on my side, or on my back if it was available. She'd even lay on my chest but hardly ever in my lap. Strange cat.
***
The countdown is on. Six days until my birthday. 3-0. I'm vowing to stay 29 forever. I'm not sure really what about turning 30 disconcerts me but...it does. I'll work through it, as I do most everything else. It's stupid, really.
Happy Monday. I hope your weekend was kind, hope that Life is treating you sweetly, hope that you're sailing smooth waters and heading into a glorious sunshower. If none of these applies, know I feel it too and we'll get through this.
N.

9:41 p.m. - 2005-03-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged