nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just doesn't make sense to me.

Another school shooting.
It turns my stomach. I don't get why these kids think it's acceptable to do this sort of thing.
I've heard all the theories about violent movies, violent video games, inattentive parents...I don't know if I buy any of those reasons. I can't even begin to claim that I even have a vague understanding because I don't. I understand anger. I understand jealousy. I understand hatred and fear and rejection. I don't understand taking someone's life, especially not a child, someone who's not even a third of the way into that life.
How have we raised a generation of kids that think it's perfectly acceptable to not take responsibility for their emotions and actions and to blame it on the victim? When did it become okay to leave guns where they're accessible to a kid? When did it become a common idea for a kid to take one of those guns to school, even if just to threaten someone?
I don't think I'll ever understand. And I think if you ask the parents of the suspects as well as the victims, they'll say the same thing. How do you stop something like that before it happens?
Ten kids dead. Multiple injuries. In BuFuMinnesota. So sad.
***
I have a funeral to go to tomorrow morning. Then it's conference time in the afternoon. And then tomorrow evening I have to work. I'm tired already, just thinking about it.
***
I thought it was strictly male dogs that tried to hump people's legs. I thought wrong. Tonight, for whatever reason, Gracie took it upon herself to try to hump MY leg, not once but twice! I successfully avoided any real contact and distracted her with her Chewy. Wacko dog.
Happy Monday, one and all.
Prayers be with those who've lost loved ones today.
N.

9:56 p.m. - 2005-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged