nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day Two: DC trip

Day Two:DC trip
We got up early and tottered half asleep to breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I felt all kinds of out of place there, surrounded by people in their power suits and ones who knew exactly what to do with all their utensils at just the right time. Thankfully, made it through with few screw ups and no embarassments.
Our first stop of the day was the White House. The boys were pumped to see the "President's House". We took several pictures and stood there, wondering aloud what it would be like to live inside. And then a police officer began clearing people back from our vicinity and I heard a woman asking if it was a picture worthy moment, to which yet another security person replied "yes". We hung around a bit, watching as more and more security personnel showed up. Long story shortened here, the President's helicopter landed in the ellipse and then spirited off with the Vice Pres, followed by the President himself zooming off in his motorcade, rolling down a window just enough to stick out a hand to wave. I think I took twelve tons of pictures and then off we went to see some of the Mall. DC has some truly beautiful architecture and statues sprinkled everywhere. That was only enhanced by the greening up of everything around as well. We saw some interesting artwork on our way to the Smithsonian Castle, including one piece the boys dubbed "The Droid". It really did look like something out of Star Wars, crashlanded on the Mall. The Enid Haupt garden was abloom with tulip magnolias that were the most gorgeous mix of mauve and rose and awash in the purples of bluebells and hyacinths. Spring was doing some serious work there and it all smelled so good. The boys were a little confused on why someone would want to be stuck in a huge urn (James Smithson's crypt) but it only phased them for a short bit.
We spent a gargantuan amount of time at the Air and Space Museum, walking until I thought my feet were going to fall right off. Thrilled does not even begin to describe my sons' reactions to the air and space crafts inside. Ryan was most pumped to see his name on the tail end of Lindberg's plane! I think my favorite was the planetarium. Lovely.
Then it was memorial and monument time, especially since there was potential for rain the next day. We caught the Tourmobile (the biggest waste of money EVER--take the Metro!!) and trundled off. The Washington Monument was surrounded by construction but still impressive in it's stature. The Lincoln Memorial created quite a stir with the boys. I was reminded more than once that it's on the penny. A nice lesbian took pictures of us in front of the seated Lincoln (and my son very politely said "thank you, Sir") and I was able to get a stunning picture of the Washington Monument as well as it's mirror image in the reflecting pool. The memorial to WWII was awesome too, even more so because my Gramps was in WWII. I took tons of pictures for him, of that and the Vietnam Memorial too. As we headed back to the hotel, I managed to get an amazing shot of the Capitol building, which you can't even tell was out the window of the cruddy Tourmobile.
Dinner was McD's (bad mom) and as the boys swam yet again, I soaked my sore toes and calves in the hot tub. Thank goodness for hot tubs. I was surprised I was in more of a world of hurt than I was, but grateful too. Bed was welcome.
***
Happy Tuesday! There was an entry prior to this one, as well.
N.

10:09 p.m. - 2005-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged