nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a mess.

I hate my job. No, really, tonight made me hate it even more than I did before.
How the hell can they expect me to crawl around on the floor, scrubbing at some sticky, wire rack, all the while I'm jumping up and down like a damned yo-yo every time a customer comes in the damned door? They actually expect me to get something accomplished? This added to the ten million other crappy tasks they put before us in any given shift (even my stupid, tiny four hour one tonight).
I mean, come ON! By the time I got back down on my knees, I couldn't remember what part of the rack I'd gotten to. Add into this the fact that the cruddy rack was coated with this adhesive goo that some bright subject thought needed a little dust and feathers introduced to. And the shit would NOT come off.
I finally gave up and gave in, sponged it all off and said 'Nuff. Know what GothBoy third-shifter told me when he came in? "Oh, that's what the heavy duty cleaners are for."
Psht. Right. Can someone please tell me where those can be found, next time?
At one point, my knees were awful tired of the floor so I sat my ass in the desk chair and hydraulic-ed it down to it's lowest point, so as to try to give my knees a break from the sticky, dusty, dirty, HARD floor. I couldn't reach the lowest part of the rack so I leaned over the chair backwards and sideways (picturing this?) feet on one side, upper half on the other, half upside down trying to reach this bottom corner. Remember the old Lt. from the PD, the half-blind one, Huck? Guess who walked in on me in this particular position and promptly burst out laughing. Uh huh.
It's hard to balance when you realize how much of a dork you look like, with your former commanding officer standing in front of you, losing his marbles too.
It was a trying night all the way around.
I meant to update yesterday with the story on how I made my neighbor drive her car into her house. Long story short, BabyBeater's wife and son were on my doorstep for the millionth time of the day and I finally just told her that I think my sons are a little too old to be hanging out with her 4, almost 5 yr old one. They don't have a thing in common (really! It's not just an excuse) and I don't relish the idea of being in charge of this particular hellion. I managed to piss her off and insult her all in one breath. She felt I was telling her she was neglectful because she can't tell you at any given moment where her kids are (if they're even still in the neighborhood) and felt that I was putting my kids above hers (I wasn't, I just don't raise mine the same way and choose not to subject myself to her brand of drama). Anyway, she got so mad that when she vroomed out of her drive, she took out the corner of her house! Literally. She has pieces of siding lying around and Lord only knows what damage she did to her car. She didn't stop, though, just kept right on vrooming off. And I haven't seen her since. Apparently, she's pissed at the whole damned neighborhood.
Who knows? I'm blessed. And incredibly accomplished at creating havoc, apparently.
In other news, I managed to get my entire garage cleaned out today. What a gorgeous day it was, too! Sunny and nearly 70something. Blue skies with not a cloud in sight and the most glorious sunset I've seen in ages (even viewed through the windows of my crappy little store). Spring Cleanup is a good thing. J spent part of tonight and then decided he was bored and wanted to go home. His mother called and he went straight to bed when he got there.
Strange child.
Happy weekend, all.
I'm off to slumber, where I can't wrestle racks or BabyBeater's wife or even my junk.
N.

12:08 a.m. - 2005-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged