nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Losing my Grace

I lost Gracie the Dog yesterday. It was only for a short time but it was enough to have me in tears. I'd let her out to do her business and turned back inside for just a moment and she was gone. As hokey as it sounds, I felt like I'd lost one of my boys. I went up and down our street, calling for her, to no avail. And when she was finally found, it was in the big field behind our house.
I just kept thinking about all the awful things that could happen to the poor mutt, wandering a neighborhood she really isn't familiar with. And I worried about what I would tell the boys. Once she was safe inside the walls of Home, I felt silly and stupid but still...glad she was home. I've become absurdly attached to this dog.
It's been a quiet week so far, in all respects. That is not a complaint on my part. The end of the school year creeps closer every day and each boys' energy feeds off the other. Routinely, I have a houseful of boys each afternoon and my backyard is filled with the sounds of baseball or dodgeball. The sounds of Summer, breaking.
Gramps is doing well. As the weather improves, he's more active. He's working on his houseplants, splitting them and repotting them. I brought him more potting soil, as he'd run out and he promptly dumped it all over the living room floor. He just doesn't have the strength he used to. He handled it well and allowed me to transfer everything out onto the balcony for him.
Grams remains in a drug-saturated haze. She's comfortable and that's all that counts. Some days are good and some days are bad. The docs still say they don't believe she'll make it to Thanksgiving but she's shown them to be wrong before. I have no real expectations and am simply taking each day as it comes. Visiting with my Grams has become an almost daily thing for me, even if only in small spurts. We can't take for granted the things we love most.
American Idol tonight was outstanding. I fiercely think the top two should be Bo and Carrie. It's time to break the bubblegum model that the last several seasons have produced. Carrie is more country than pop (should have been on Nashville Star--she'd have won!) and Bo is more rock but it would be nifty to see.
America's Next Top Model is ending soon too and I'll be surprised if Naima doesn't win.
I'm experiencing pool-envy once again. JohnnieV is about to unveil his for the Summer and I'm incredibly jealous. I've seriously considered putting up a full-fledged one, but killing a huge circle of grass in my backyard doesn't thrill me. Someone send me a magic pool that won't kill my grass, would ya?
Happy Tuesday, one and all.
N.
p.s. As I took the boys to school today, we saw a deer on one of the busiest streets in our town. Poor thing was obviously lost and scared, out of sorts enough to run full throttle into a building. It came away with blood running down it's soft face and darted around the building and off on it's way. It left me wondering how a singular deer found it's way into the heart of our burg, with hardly a scratch until it panicked on it's way back out. Poor baby.

9:25 p.m. - 2005-05-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged