nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My son, learning self-confidence

He was amazing. His face lit up like the sky on the 4th of July. And his classmates actually applauded with enthusiasm. For the first time ever. He was so excited and so proud of himself. I haen't seen his face like that ever. I wanted to kiss his teacher.
And after, in the classroom, receiving other assorted smaller awards, the glow continued.
Today was Trevor's day. Final count? 8 awards, for most improvement through the school year, several for reading accomplishments, and one for conquering the math and science skills the teacher set the kids against.
I was proud of him and for him. I had a moment to talk with his teacher while the kids were on recess and she cried, while explaining that she's going to miss him. She has developed an attachment to him and asked me to have him call this Summer, if ever he needs a cheerleader and I had to promise to keep her updated as the years keep flying by. She's sending him on to a teacher next year that she describes as her twin. And I couldn't be happier. This woman has made such a difference with my son. He's never had a better teacher, one who took him as HE is, instead of how she wants him to be. And that's obvious in the stellar year he's had.
There's something about watching your child finally realize how terrific he really is and finaly find his way...
All in all, a great end to their year. On to the next grade!
***
Summer was ushered in this afternoon with some frustration, a little blood and more than a little pain. I was trying to get the safety net created and attached to the trampoline and in the process managed to catch my finger between the frame and a tight bungee. I'm minus a little skin and blood now, with a sore index finger and knuckle. The safety net was more difficult to put together than the trampoline was! Stupid directions made no sense until I realized I needed to be smarter than a strap. Duh. Ryan got pegged in the forehead with a baseball, thrown fullforce from about a foot away by J, who wasn't even supposed to be at my house. He'd literally snuck out against his parents wishes and when I asked him three times if they knew where he was, he lied to me. So I had a sore finger, a lying kid and a screaming Ryan, with a forehead rapidly swelling outward. I called J's parents, who were having a coniption wondering where the heck he was, and then livid when I explained the situation. He's grounded, not only to his house but from mine, by me.
My backyard has become a haven for 'squitoes and I'm not liking it a bit. Apparently, pale skin tastes good or something. I guess I look...raw, maybe. Need to mow and start with the repellant.
Got the boys' pictures done today too. They're darling. Can't wait to get them back and post them somewhere.
Happy Thursday. Avoid bungeed metal and kids slinging baseballs.
N.

9:40 p.m. - 2005-06-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged