nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A lovely Summer day

It's storming like mad here right now, great rounds of thunder and brilliant flashes of lightning. I can hear, at times, the droplets of rain smacking into the window. I've had to close some of the windows facing the brunt of the storm to keep that rain out. Beautiful thunderstorms, that sing and dance with wind and color and are scented with wet earth.
An interesting day today. We saw the movie Madagascar and I laughed just as hard as the boys. There were some very cute parts and I quite enjoyed it. Bought a pool, one of those that resembles a folded over paper bag, only blue. Found out rather quickly that my yard hasn't a level spot in it anywhere. Thus my pool was listing to the side and had I filled it any further, it would have toppled over. I stopped and tomorrow will investigate how many bags of sand I must buy to create a semblance of "level" in my yard. It was in the midst of this endeavour that I realized something.
My children mirror my frustrations, or rather, my method of dealing with them. As I grumbled at the pool and got increasingly aggravated, my son turns to me and says, "Why don't we sit down and take a time-out? We need to wrap our brains around this."
I had to laugh. He sounded so damned...grown up! And it cracked me up because I can't count how many times I've said the same thing while helping them deal with a situation that's frustrating them. I've tried to make sure they keep their tempers reined in and use logic to deal with situations like that, rather than a hot head.
Funny.
My aunt took Trev out for a belated shopping trip this evening and he came back with all the trappings for a new bedroom. She bought material to make him new curtains (sports-oriented, of course) and covers for his pillows, as well as pillows shaped like a soccer ball and a football. He's got new sheets, appliques for the walls and a new baseball and bat to hang. She also bought him 7 packs of baseball cards and a hand held basketball game, as well as an adult-sized canvas chair for camping. He was pumped. And one of the reasons she cited for going so overboard with him was because he had such a stellar year with school. Trev was so proud of himself!
Spoiled goose.
It was fairly quiet, overall. Nothing to really complain about, other than the heat.
And I'm getting the heck off the computer now. Huge crack of lightning signals a need for that.
Happy weekend, all!
N.

9:42 p.m. - 2005-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged