nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Full days

It's about freaking time. I lost count of how many times I tried to update yesterday and got that cruddy "neener, neener, neener, you're not a Gold Member" screen. Grrrr...irritating. So do I spring for the membership or whine alot and beg some anonymous soul to buy it for me? Or do I deal and shut up?
I think we all know what's going to happen with THAT decision.
Today was a banner day. With the pool up and running, the boys have spent probably 90% of their awake time splashing to their hearts' content. I kicked ass cleaning the house. It's even sparkly in here! I think I've officially obtained "Queen of the Laundry" status and a dish wouldn't dare sully my sinks.
Trev and Ry were pretty darned good today, keeping themselves occupied with minimal brotherly bickering. We had probably half the neighborhood here, BBQ-ing and just being sociable. It was nice. Something about a gathering of people, eating and watching children be children. Certainly a sign of Summer.
My cat Sam flew the coop the other night. He shoved his way through one of the screens and I had to herd him across my yard in the morning, clad only in a nightshirt while quietly shooing this monster brown tiger beast away that was hellbent on eating my poor marshmallow of a Sam. He'd apparently wrangled with this big old boy at some point in the night because Sam was missing a chunk of fur on his hindquarters. He's recovering nicely and the screen has been repaired. No more overnight forays into places declawed kitties shouldn't be.
I ran into the Ice God at Wally World today. Turned a corner and there he was. I helped him find the middle of the store scanner that tells prices and went on my way. Minimal flirting.
I can hear crickets in the backyard. Before long, it'll be firefly time. Mason jars capped off, holes spattering the lids, filled to capacity with flickering bits of light by little boys with sweaty hands. And after lights out, mothers sneaking those jars back outside, turning them teakettle over top and dumping those waning fireflies back into the damp of the waiting lawn in hopes of saving their little luminescent lives.
As long as the heat keeps itself under control, I can handle this Summer stuff.
Happy weekend, all.
N.

10:47 p.m. - 2005-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged