nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A music meme from Johnniev

First off, I'm supposed to tag six other people to list their 6 current favorite songs. Due to the fact that I'm not 100% sure who exactly still reads my diary, this may be difficult. So. Here we go.
1) Dave
2) Abe
3) Bingoboi
4) Fluidlife
5) Jenn
6)Mista-Jones. He's locked tight, so I won't provide a link but I'm sure he'll let me know when he answers.
And ) John has put me to the task of answering several more music-related questions.
-- What is my total volume of music? Sadly, I had hours and hours worth of MP3's settled into the dark corridors of my computer until it died an untimely death and lost them all. Being a child in the 80's I have tons of cassette tapes that I don't listen to a whole heck of a lot anymore but occasionally break out for the joy of it. CD's are my happy choice but as John so aptly noticed, raising children cuts into the funding. At this point in time, I've probably got close to 200 cd's.

-- What is the last CD I bought? I bought several all at once: Rob Thomas- Something to Be, 3 Doors Down- 17 days, Gwen Stefani- Love, Angel, Music, Baby, Submersed- In Due Time, the double disc set of Phantom of the Opera, Gretchen Wilson- Here For the Party, and an old Bob Seger one. It was time to update a little.

-- What song is playing right now? My house is quiet, so that I can listen to the boys playing outside. That's music in it's own right. Very similarly to John, I have tunes in my head just about constantly, playing in the background of whatever I'm thinking about. Sometimes it's completely off the wall, like the Oscar Meyer weiner song or the old Schoolhouse Rock commercials and at others it's completely right on. I woke up this morning humming a song from the 80's, a one hit wonder by Kevin Raleigh that I can't ever seem to find in MP3 form or on disc, Moonlight on Water. It was catchy. Yesterday it ran the gamut from Janis Ian to Disturbed and then off to music from A Chorus Line. Tits and assssss...

-- What five songs do I listen to a lot because they are special to me?
Arg. It's difficult for me to narrow this down. Too many, for too many different reasons.
*Everything by Lifehouse haunts me, not only the tune but the lyrics. Perhaps because in spite of everything, I still believe that with work and tenacity and faith and clarity, you can feel that way about someone forever.
*Got To Give It Up (pt.1) by Marvin Gaye because without fail, it makes me boogie. I don't think I've ever heard this song without moving my body to it.
*Moonlight Sonata and Fur Elise by Beethoven. Beautiful and sweet and they were my first real introduction to classical music and remain my favorites.
*All the Pretty Little Horses-Unknown. This was a song I used to sing to the boys when they were babies. It's a haunting, sweet little ballad and it was our bedtime ritual.
*Blackbird by the Beatles. I identified so strongly with this song the first time I heard it and that hasn't changed.

-- Five people I'm passing the musical baton to? This'll have to wait until tomorrow. See, I only know so many people online to pass this sort of thing TO!
Thanks, J.
***
I wandered into a site today, IntellectualWhores.com, and spent quite some time there. It's rather amusing in a snarky sort of way. If I took it more seriously, I might have been offended a time or two but overall, just a quirky little site.
It's Hot with a capital H. I'm on the fence as to whether I'm actually taking the boys to the races now. It's really hot and it's an outdoor situation. Not sure how much sun we can all stand at length. Beyond that, I'm not sure I'll be able to peel the boys out of the pool for it! Ah, well. I've spent entirely too much time here. Need to get a shower and motivate. At minimum, I'll take them over to the kids' events and stay for a bit of the race (ick) then maybe a movie. That sounds good and air conditioned!
Happy Saturday. Get some rest.
N.

12:47 p.m. - 2005-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged