nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lushness in my world

I'm watching this little brown bunny having it's dinner in my back lawn, almost camouflaged because the grass needs mowed. We've had some tremendous storms here today and the sky remains dark and grim-looking. I can smell the rain and wet foliage and honeysuckle and the wild strawberries that are fruiting up all along the perimeter of the yard. The birds are strangely silent, although active. They've been warring with the runnybabbit for groundspace, trying to stake claim to the worms that were flooded out of their holes. There's not even the hushed sounds of traffic. Everything is so lush and without the heat, not the least bit tropical.
I love this weather. Tonight we're to have more storms which'll keep it cool for sleeping and the sounds always lull me.
***
My sons found something today. Remember the old pull tops to cans of soda? The ones that came completely off, like a small and sharp metal tongue on a ring? They hadn't a clue what it was and I was hardpressed to describe it. They obviously thought I was making it up!
I remember one summer, Ohio was on a campaign to clean up it's roadways and Litter Was The Enemy. I was obsessed with collecting those stupid pull tabs and kept them all on one of those chains that you typically find military dogtags on, really long and easy to open for my smallish hands. I think I had a million of the things and had crafted a story in my head that if I found enough, I'd get some great reward. My mother popped that bubble when she got tired of the little knicks on my fingers and the jangle that sounded from my habit of carrying them around and dumped them rather unceremoniously in the trash.
That was also the summer that her friends went to Virginia (Is For Lovers) and brought me back this (cheap) fun little balsam wood glider. It was dinky and fragile but I had a blast with that thing. It was emblazoned with that theme up there and I hadn't a clue what it meant. I was just pumped to get a souvenir!
That was the summer, as well, that my older brother K. decided to play hide and seek in my mother's Chevy Nova and in the process, popped it out of gear and rolled it down a hill straight into a pole. What a lovely mess he created with that one, but nothing quite as bad as when he caught the neighbor's yard on fire.
Gosh, I hope my kids are gentle with me.
***
I just noticed that my tiny little rose bush is in bloom. Two blood red blossoms, velvety and so big they're bending the stems. And the tiger lilies along the back hill are out, burnt orange and spunky in their vibrancy. I've always thought that if flowers had personality, tigerlilies would be much like redheads---fiesty and full of fire.
Happy Thursday, all.
N.

7:26 p.m. - 2005-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged