nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's steenkeeng hot

It's been a humdinger of a hot day. Actually, let me amend that and say that it was a warm day, made even more so by the extreme humidity. It was so incredibly humid that when I stepped out of the van (which was minimally air conditioned at the time) into open air, my glasses steamed up! In the middle of Summer! Ridiculous, I tell you.
Trev, Ry, Avery and my sister have spent the entire day in the pool. They were out long enough to re-sunscreen, eat and jump on the trampoline a time or two. Other than that, it's been Dolphinland here.
It's been a hectic day, too. I won't go into details but when I went to Gramps' today, there was a big old mess waiting for me in the bathtub. I nearly tossed my cookies. And the worst part of it (besides the whole situation) was that Gramps didn't bother to warn me at all. I cleaned up the rest of the house after scrubbing that up. Thank goodness he has a fan in there, otherwise I might have asphyxiated on the bleach that I used to sanitize the tub. Just...ick. I went from there to see Grams and walked into chaos. She was all bothered and disconcerted, trying to pull out her catheter. Talking to her did absolutely no good and then she decided it was time to get up. Lemme tell you that my Grams can be very determined and stubborn when she sets her mind to something (even in the midst of her confusion) and she was hellbent on getting out of bed. I finally convinced her, with the help of a nurse from Hospice, to sit still until another nurse came to help and when I turned my back to get her laundry ready to go, she fell asleep.
Asleep. I guess arguing with one's grandmother is certainly a way to wear her out.
The kids behaved themselves, aside from minor skirmishes. That's always a plus.
It's going to be a semi-busy weekend, though, so they were trying not to lose their activities.
Trev's going to J's birthday party and sleepover on Saturday and my sister is coming over Saturday night and hanging with Ryan. Sunday Trev's going to an Indians game with J and his dad. It's Kids Day and if they're one of the first 2500 people in, they get cameras and get to go down on the field to get pics taken with the players. The fun part is that Trevor doesn't know, yet, that he's going on Sunday. He's going to be so pumped.
***
Tonight is Harry Potter night. I pre-ordered our copy but won't be picking it up tonight. I was tempted to take the boys to the whole hoopla but with everything else going on this weekend, I think it's more important for them to get their sleep. They've had little enough of that the last several nights due to sleepovers, etc (Avery stayed over last night because his mother had an appt. early this morning.)
Happy Friday, one and all. Have a safe and happy weekend.
N.

7:39 p.m. - 2005-07-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged