nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Prayers for N.O., wool off my eyes and wool gathering

Hurrican Katrina was one badass bitch.
My thoughts and prayers continue for those affected.
***
I won't even begin on my feelings about the whole gasoline debacle. We hit $3.16 per gallon today and I nearly hit the roof. That's going to extremely curtail my driving. Nearly $100 for a tank of gas just isn't happening in my world.
***
I've officially ended my work at the optometrist's office. I hope that she enjoys her retirement to it's fullest and am glad to see that she's gotten some relief from the stresses of ending her practice. She certainly deserves it.
***
Ave came over tonight. He rode home with the boys on the bus and spent until 7 here, had dinner and then I drove him back to his new residence. He's very obviously not dealing with any of this situation, at all. He's ignoring it. His foster mother is going to start him in intensive counseling next week and I think that's a grand idea. He needs to deal with this and not just stuff it away.
I've found out so much more than I ever knew. I'm left feeling confused and a little fooled. I'm not sure what to do with all this newfound knowledge and it's going to take some time to process. I'll simply say that I took things at face value and they weren't remotely close to what they seemed.
I've managed to completely pack their kitchen, dining room and half of the living room. There's a ton of boxes stacked everywhere but at least it's done. There's still the entire upstairs to do but the foster mom's church group is going to help with some of that, I think. I hope.
I've worked steadily for the last several days, several hours a day and I'm looking forward to taking the weekend off and away.
FosterMom also has their dog, Niles. He's blind due to abuse in a previous home and has other health issues (including seizures). FosterMom is wanting to find him a new foster home. She says he's stressing out her cats and very old dog entirely too much. She's asked if I'd consider taking him in and I'm a little divided on that. I think he'd stress out my kitties too, but probably not as much as her old ones. I'm more concerned about his health issues and affording his meds. I don't know if she'll continue to pay for them (she's got triple my financial situation) or not. Phenobarb for a doggie is expensive! We shall see.
***
Yellow bees have begun nesting in my front flower garden. They've decided to tunnel down into the soil there, amidst the green weeds and clover. If you sit on the stoop and watch, they hover just before dipping down into their hole and fly out just as abruptly. I'm not sure what to do about getting rid of them. Boiling water has entered my thoughts but I'm not sure that would do the trick. I hesitate to put pesticides of any type down there, since there are good bugs in the garden as well. Not sure what to do, just know they need to find a new home. They're entirely too close to my front door and I'm sick of waving them away and risking a sting or finding them flitting around inside the van.
I have enough buzziness going on (oh, the puns!) I had to.
Happy Thursday, all. Sweet dreams.
N.

9:31 p.m. - 2005-09-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged