nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oodles and oodles of yardwork

Today feels like Saturday. Really. It shouldn't, since we've already had one of those this weekend but it does. Maybe it's because it's an elongated weekend. Maybe it's because I really got next to nothing accomplished yesterday. Maybe it's because we've been blessed with gloriously sunny, warm-but-not-hot days lately.
We BBQ'ed yesterday, ribs and corn on the cob and kabobs and other assorted goodies, followed by badminton for the kiddos and croquet for the adults. Then evening came upon us in a whisper, with cool breezes and creeping shadows so we headed indoors and watched the latter half of Shark Tale until it was bedtime for the boys.
I realized something last night. I suck at Spades. Nope. I mean it. I really suck. I don't play it often and therefore have to be reminded whether to lead high or low, depending on whether I'm bidding or not. And then inevitably I toss out the wrong card mid-play so YES, I suck. Stands to reason that I've never learned the more difficult card games.
Today has been a mish mash of laziness. We went out to breakfast for once and had a buffet style meal. It wasn't bad at all and Ryan actually ate like a champ. Mr. Picky Eater found food he devoured like it was going out of style.
It's another lovely day, with crystal clear skies and just enough warmth to keep it comfortable at this point. I've begun draining the pool, tugged up the badminton net and removed the plastic spikes to the boys horseshoe set. I'm thinking Fall is going to be a whirlwind visit this year and I'd like to make sure my backyard is Winter-friendly. The trampoline is going to stay up for a bit yet.
***
I stopped over at Ave's house to eyeball the progress others have made there. I have to say that someone in that mess didn't know how to pack. They literally just tossed things in a box, marked it LIVING ROOM and shut it up. Unfortunately, the things in the box are the surround sound system and thus need to be handled fairly carefully. Maybe I'm anally retentive about my labelling practices but I think it helps when it comes time to find what you're looking for or when it's actually time to move things. Good to know what's semi-fragile!
***
I've bees tunnelling into the ground in my front weed garden (more weeds than flowers, thus the name) so I need to get the Sevin dust sprinkled in there. I'm thinking I wouldn't really care for buzzy roommates this Fall and Winter. Not my idea of fun!
Off to work on the yard. Shame to waste the beautiful weather.
Back later.
N.

12:45 p.m. - 2005-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged