nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More on my devilish angels

Tonight began the new season of Survivor. I've not watched regularly in the past, a snippet here or half an episode there but nothing even remotely close to any semblance of consistency.
This evening might have changed that. On a whim, in spite of the fact that they're grounded, I let the boys curl up on my bed with me to watch it tonight. And they love it.
I loved the together time. My sons snuggled down into the sweet softness of my comforter, bodies willy nilly yet somehow finding niches that seemed made for them. They shared the same space for an hour, with no kicking or squabbling or picking at one another, just in complete harmony and absorption. There were quiet questions along the way, bits and pieces but they were enthralled for the most part.
And then it was time for the chaos of bedtime, dashing for the bathroom at the same time and then flicking water and toothpaste at one another like it was an Olympic event.
They're quietly settled into their own beds now and peace reigns. Thank God.
This has been a trying week. They're having a tough time with behaving at school, to the tune of Ryan getting a detention next week for missing homework assignments as well as a request from his AnalRetentiveTeacher to have him tested for ADD (my Ry is far from ADD. Personally, I think the teacher has got the issues. I was afraid this year was going to be tumultuous and it looks like I was right). Trev has missed recess all this week for stupid things like talking when he's not supposed to and throwing rocks at recess. He's scheduled to miss recess next week because after being shoved off a bench by a bigger boy because that boy didn't want to sit next to him (that boy got detention), he got up and slugged the kid in the shoulder. Now, how do you tell a kid not to defend himself? It was more like reminding him to kep his hands to himself.
Today was a good day. No cards pulled, no notes from any teachers or principals, just clean homework organizers and smiling faces.
I guess that's what threatening your children with death will bring about!
(Kidding, kidding! I threatened to not allow them to attend the county fair here next week if they didn't straighten their butts up.)
***
The job hunt is progressing. Slowly, but it's progressing. I've got another promising lead so let's keep our fingers crossed.
Happy Thursday, all.
N. P.S. I almost forgot! I got my hair done today and I looooove it. The highlights came out beautifully and the cut is lovely as well. It's got bounce and swing and I'm a happy camper. Happy days.

9:12 p.m. - 2005-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged