nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rain without the rainbows

Yesterday, despite the slight drizzle trickling down from the grey, grey skies, we went to the street fair.
Remember my premonition when going to the county fair? "As soon as I purchase those wristlets that let them ride the rides, it'll begin pouring..."
So I refrained, with the promise that when this street fair came around, we'd ride rides there. Riiight.
We went to the street fair, paid for the wrist bands and in the midst of the second ride, it began to pour. My sons were having a great time, squealing laughter as they were scrambled all over the place and BAM. The sky let loose in a complete deluge of droplets.
We stood under a canopy of leaves from one of the largest trees, with the boys fervently hoping that it would let up long enough to go back to the rides.
That, however, wasn't happening. Instead, we continued standing in the rain, ordering our assorted fair foods and then dashed to the van.
All jackets ended up in the dryer, as they were soaked through and through. Sneakers were set in front of the heater to dry out. The cold that was trying to catch hold of me has settled in and has invited it's relatives in for a visit.
I jinxed it as soon as I bought those wrist bands, I know it.
***
It was a gorgeously grey and rainy afternoon here. At one point, while letting the dog out, I realized how completely devoid of sound our neighborhood was. Completely silent. There wasn't even a dog barking, a car swishing by, couldn't even hear the sounds of the rain falling. It was so quiet.
I stood there for a few minutes, breathing in the cool air and tasting the rain, enjoying the quiet and that chill that begins to permeate everything when Fall finally hits.
Then I went back inside, enveloped as soon as I walked in the door by the smells of lasagna cooking and children laughing and wrestling and a doggy face expectantly waiting for her treat.
***
Happy Sunday. I hope your week goes along swimmingly.
N.

9:19 p.m. - 2005-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged