nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rattling and prattling on my soapbox.

It feels like it's been raining for three weeks straight but in reality, it's only been about 24 hours, off and on. Fall has come on with a vengeance. It's cool, got to all of mid-50's today and it's not going to get any warmer in the next ten days or so (according the TheLyingWeathermen).
I'm hoping the rain stops for at least a little while this weekend as I want to take the boys to the pumpkin farm. Sort of difficult to do in the rain, considering we trek out on a tractor-pulled wagon and get dumped in the middle of a field. Certainly not something I want to do in the rain!
Ry's friend Logan is coming over to spend the night on Saturday and I've planned to have them help me make French bread pizzas and chocolate chip cookies. My kitchen is going to be a wreck.
I'm revving up for this next week. It's going to be busy but I think that as long as I stay organized, it'll be a piece of cake. Something going on every day, in addition to all the other normal activities and situations. Monday is Scouts, Tuesday and Wednesday are conferences, Thursday is Beggar's Night and baking day, Friday is party day, Saturday and Sunday is camping with the Scouts. All in the organization.
***
I was doing some online reading of news. That broad from Cali who dropped her children over the edge of the bridge...turned my stomach. Her family had heard her say she intended to hurt those kids and still, she had them in her care. I have a basic understanding of schizophrenia, at best. Social Services in Cali declined to remove the children from her custody because of the mental illness. Have to wonder who's head's going to roll for this one.
Ohio has had more than it's fair share of egg-on-face as well. Nothing like politicians who basically embezzle funds for their own use. Another contamination in the Cuyahoga River, but at least it's contained. Not on fire as has happened in the past. The parents from Huron who kept their kids in the metal cages are being dealt with properly, finally.
I've heard all the excuses about Children Services being overworked, understaffed, deluged with paperwork...
Bottom line, they're paid to do a job, and a very important job it is. They protect children. There's no such thing as falling into a crack.
Some nice person found a baby in Cleveland, in a garbage bag at Tower City Center. The nurses at Metro Hospital have named him Jack and they say he's a fighter. He's going to make someone a heck of a son. I wonder if his egg donor will ever know.
So sad.
***
Happy Friday. I'm off to watch scary movies.
N.
P.s. Did you know that Traci Lords' hometown is Steubenville, OH? Our spawn have run the gamut from Dahmer and Marilyn Manson to Traci Lords and Katie Holmes...my, my, my.

8:50 p.m. - 2005-10-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged