nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tales of tricks and treats

How funny. I just watched this silly cell phone commercial wherein everyone was channeling Shakira's La Tortura and breaking spontaneously into these contortions and gyrations that only Ms. Shak can accomplish. I was struck by how very much I'd love to see that happen in actuality. I think it would be hilarious as hell. Random strangers undulating to a completely unknown tune. Booty grinds in the middle of the street. That would crack me up.
***
Beggar's Night went off without a hitch. The boys came home with lotsa loot, lots of chocolate. It's sad to see but there are markedly less people not only out trick or treating but also less handing out treats. When I was a kid, living in a small town, there were tons upon tons of people handing out and there wasn't a kid who lived in that town who didn't come home dragging a pillowcase stuffed to the gills. Nowadays, it's not quite the same. I don't know if that's a sign of the times or a signal of how badly our economy has taken a hit. It was sad to see. It was really a good night to be out, if a little cool. There are just enough leaves covering the sidewalks that strolling was a noisy and competitive affair. Apparently seeing how many leaves you can build up into a mound on your feet before they all fall to the wayside is a fun game. The crispy, crunch noises were accompanied by the giggles and breathless chatter that only excited kids can bring forth. The air was flavored with wood smoke and I could taste it everytime I inhaled. Jack o'lanterns both macabre and cheery leered and showed their wavery light. By the time we wandered home, my fingertips were numb and the tip of my nose was glowing red but it was worth it. The warming process was helped by the mulled cider I left merrily bubbling cinnamon sticks around on low heat while we were gone for the hour.
My sons were very well-mannered and I can happily report they didn't forget to say "thanks" once. They also grew invisible devil horns and mentally sent tiny gremlins in to haunt the people handing out bible brochures and balloons. Halloween just isn't about anything but candy.
Trev made an outstanding devil. He wasn't one of those cute devils, either. He was evil looking as all get out. Couldn't be helped. Ryan was Darth Vader and quite happy tramping along making heavy breathing noises and the "bshzzzt" noises that come with carrying a light saber.
What am I going to do when they're all grown up?
***
Happy Thursday.
N.

10:03 p.m. - 2005-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged