nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Additions and fruitcake

According to Grams' doctor, she did fracture her cheek bone and she also broke her other hip. Visiting with her today was awful. The entire right side of her face is this horrid shade of olive, with dark splashes of black, purple and blue. Her right eye is nearly swollen shut. She's got a huge knot over her eye, completely obliterating her eyebrow and that side of her face is so swollen that if you were to view her from profile only, you wouldn't recognize her as my Grams.
The hard part for my Grams is that she doesn't remember falling, hasn't a clue why she's in so much pain and won't leave her injuries alone. No matter how many times you explain, her memory is so far gone it's not keeping any of it straight. That makes it difficult, not only to keep her still but in treating her as well. She doesn't know what she's being treated FOR.
***
It's so hard to believe that Thanksgiving is a little over a week away. Turkey Day and my sons are off school on a five day weekend. Needless to say, they're ecstatic. I'll be ready for school by the Sunday following.
***
I'm going to attempt to make fruitcake this Christmas. I've never made one, ever, but it's my Gramps favorite holiday food and I figured I'd try it out. How badly can one gal butcher a fruitcake? Aren't they notorious for being bad? I've never eaten one.
Happy Monday.
N.

9:25 p.m. - 2005-11-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged