nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My boys were paraders.

I'm glad to be a slug today.
The last two days have been filled to the brim with every situation possible. We had emergency surgery on Scout pants, humdrum normalcy of food and laundry and bedtimes, race-against-the-clockness while trying to be in two places at one time and plain old joy.
Trev and Ry got to be a part of the holiday parade here in our little town. It's a tradition here that the Christmas season officially starts with the ushering in of Santa in this parade and without fail, it's always cold. Yesterday was no exception. Trev's pants popped a hem and I had a bit of a time getting them back into shape. No straight pins=difficulty holding the fabric while sewing. I improvised!
It was actually warmer than we thought it might be, but still cold and brightly sunny. After finally getting everyone to their starting points, I parked near the pickup point and hoofed it down to Main St. I stood on the corner, waiting for the parade to begin, listening to the most obnoxious sound---our town had set up a public address system a few years back and it was working in spurts. The voice on the p.a. would get out about three words then short out. Ten minutes into it, I was wishing he'd just shut up.
I can say that I got some really great pics, though, of my boys. One marched, one rode on a float, both so proud and happy to be there. My little sister was also in the parade, with her Girl Scout group (I think). Once the float was past, I scrambled back to the pickup place and collected my sons and Ave, who were gibbering away.
We had to meet up at the school to collect Scout popcorn that was sold for fundraiser and also to wait for Ave's foster parents to pick him up.
Next stop? Home, to stuff my children, change out of uniforms and head out to the new Harry Potter flick. We got to the movie half an hour early and it's a good thing that we did. There was already a line forming and we were lucky to get the seats we did. Middle of the theater in all ways! Absolutely perfect in a new theater with stadium seating.
It was a good movie and one that the boys enjoyed thoroughly. Ah, who'm I kidding? I loved it just as much.
SO. Today's slugginess is much warranted and enjoyed.
***
ThatCousinWhoTossedTheFit was also in a holiday parade but it was in a town adjacent to ours. Apparently, our little pond was too small for her big fishiness. She was part of the M@rch of Dime$ portion of the parade, and my aunt bought Tater and Pnut not only the most adorable matching red dresses but also fur capes and muffs to keep them warm (yes, real fur for two little girls aged 1 and 4). M@rch of Dime$ has become ThatCousin's cause, and is getting her in the paper quite a bit. She's very happy with this and I guess it's a good cause. My personal opinion is that she's using this as a platform for her own need for attention instead of just for the cause but as long as it's symbiotic, I guess that's not so bad.
***
It's going to be an interesting week here. Much prep work for Turkey Day will be commencing and the boys' last day of school is Tuesday. I'm looking forward to piddling around the kitchen a bit. I also have a few activities with the kiddos planned. Relaxation is the goal.
Happy Weekend.
N.

11:51 a.m. - 2005-11-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged