nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Belated Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving came and went. I was a busy girl and wasn't online from Tuesday night to this evening. For everyone I left belated Happy Turkey Day wishes for, I apologize for not getting them out beforehand. Just wasn't on the ball enough!
Here at Casa De Nixtress, we're all stuffed like the proverbial turkey and happy to be so. The boys had a great couple of days playing and it was nice to get away for a bit.
In terms of my family, they opted to leave Grams in the home, knowing that it's getting more and more difficult not only to move her but also to return her to that place with minimal fuss or strain on her emotions. Gramps quite happily went to the family get together and came home with a mince meat pie, his favorite.
I called my mother's on Turkey Day but she'd gone to the store. My brothers were there and we chitchatted a few minutes. I spoke with my little sis, always a good thing, only to find out that my mom's s.o. had gotten tanked the night before and was still sleeping off his drunk at 2 pm. The problem with that is that my mother moved their bedroom down into the living room because he couldn't handle getting up the stairs while drunk (can we say ENABLER?) and with him sleeping there, that limited the space available for anyone else. Basically, Thanksgiving dinner was being held in the kitchen and computer room because he was snoring in the living room. *sigh*
Thankful...I'm thankful to not be living there anymore, immersed in that brand of drama.
I'm thankful that my sons are hearty and whole, funny and growing in ways I'm sure even I can't tell right now.
I'm thankful for the wonderful people I have in my life.
I'm thankful that only a little snow fell while I was driving to our ultimate Turkey Day location.
I'm thankful that the alignment guy let me make payments on the job that ended up being more than an alignment and turned into also replacing the wheel bearings in my van's front end.
I'm thankful it was only a little over $300.00
I'm thankful that I opted to put all new tires on my van just before our first snow.
I'm thankful for the family I have living, even when they do drive me batty.
I could go on but I think you get the picture. Sometimes it's just appropriate to remember all the good things we have in our lives, right?
***
Happy Friday. I hope that everyone had a wondrous Thanksgiving and that you're looking forward to the long weekend.
More tomorrow.
N.

7:39 p.m. - 2005-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged