nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which N makes her mother mad and endures a snow day

I think I peeved my mother today. She called this morning at 6:30, before my alarm had even gone off, to tell me that there was a two hour delay for school. I thanked her rather groggily and sank back into the comfort of my bed. I was quite content to lay there, waking up at my own speed for once, knowing there wasn't going to be our typical chaotic morning. It was lovely. The boys woke up completely on their own and were overjoyed to see the delay. They had a leisurely breakfast and then spent some time cuddled up to morning cartoons (something they never see during the week).
I was sort of surprised to see the delay since the roads didn't look that bad. I surmised that the more rural roads must be in bad shape due to some snow that hit last night. And then I saw that they decided to cancel school. Amid the hoots of happiness, the phone rang.
My mother was calling, letting me know she'd be dropping my sister C. off. Not asking---telling. Under normal circumstances, I wouldn't have a problem having my sister around and in the past, have not only kept her through every school holiday we've had but on random occasions as well. The problem with this particular occasion was that I had shopping to do for assorted relatives still and had informed her of this fact just a few days ago. I also had told her that I wouldn't be able to keep my sister C. until school was officially in break because I had last minute things to accomplish for Christmas.
She agreed at that time to set up a back up sitter. In fact, she'd said that my stepbrother was set to watch C. if something came up. And then she called me? She was pissed when I told her "No go".
I can't always be the one she turns to. I'm her daughter, not her mother. And honestly, I have my own family to raise. I'm entitled to say NO once in awhile.
***
In spite of the inclement weather, I got tons done today. All of my shopping for other people besides my children is finished. And half the boys' shopping is done as well. I'm a happy camper. Soon, wrapping insanity will commence!
Hopefully Trev and Ry will be back in school tomorrow (it's class party day) and I'll be able to finish the last of my shopping.
***
Can'tEatandCan'tPoopLady called today. We had a nice chat, caught up on everything. She's doing really well and seems to be thriving in their new life up there. I'm glad, for her and for them. I can't imagine what it must have been like for her here.
It's nice to hear good news.
Happy Thursday.
N.

8:39 p.m. - 2005-12-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged