nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We're home.

Did you have a wonderful Christmas? Or was yours as packed to the gills as mine? I relished coming home, to my own space and my own foods and my own life so much.
It was nice this year. I managed to find exactly what I wanted to give to others and that's always a relief. It's mighty uncomfortable to just get something generic, something you could give to a stranger on the street and they'd be happy. I like to personalize things, like to keep the person in mind and try to find something that fits them. This year, the stores cooperated with me.
The boys were quite happy with what they received and have kept themselves quite busy with it all. I barely hear them, unless they're bickering over some random toy. Some of the things I got them were really cool---an Erector set, this cool Spiderman stunt set that lets Spidey swing from light post to light post via magnets. Ryan's favorite was a tie--- a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles dress-up set and his Erector set. Trev's was a baseball with the Cleveland Indians Wahoo on it. Of all things, a stinking baseball. *insert sigh here* There's just no telling what a kid's going to think is cool. Of course, I count myself lucky that they're still fairly cheap to buy for!
We ate all manner of food, enough that the gym and I are going to become fast friends really stinking quick. Some of that food made it's way home with us and my house is wheezing as it tries to hold it all within the confines of cupboards, counters and fridge. Poor house.
We were gone overnight and I swear the cats thought we'd left them for good. They were incredibly happy to see us, met us at the door and "talked" to me for a good half hour after we got home. Crafty little things managed to pick off most of the ornaments on the bottom six inches of the tree. Good thing I'd put soft or non-breakable ones there.
Christmas at my aunt's was good, too. I can't help but think we're in the downward slope for get-togethers. With Grams in the nursing home and not attending anymore, fewer and fewer people are gathering. I suppose that's going to happen, regardless. I made the most of it, this year, and took a multitude of photos. I literally have almost no pics of my father's side of the family, other than ThatCousin, her two girls and my grandparents. I got some good shots. Even got one of my SpermDonor (bio-dad) sitting with my Ry-guy. It's amazing to me how much he not only physically resembles his grandfather but also how very much like him he is in personality. According to all the stories I've heard regarding my father as a child, Ry's a spitting image. SpermDonor actually held small snippets of conversation with me this year. That's better than being ignored and being left wondering why he hates me.
All in all, a good holiday. I have lovely memories to put away in my internal scrapbooks, beautiful pictures of my family to make notes on and find a home for in my photo albums, happy children to watch and play with, and a warm home to come back to.
Happy Monday.
N.

9:02 p.m. - 2005-12-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged