nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Year's Eve 2005

New Year's Eve.
Yesterday marked my 3rd Diary-versary, as Golfwidow put it, and I spent some time reading back over a bunch of the older entries. I think I'm going to randomly choose some of the more important ones as this year begins, and not only link to them but update my feelings or thoughts about them. Seems a good time for some introspection.
The boys and I rambled around today, accomplished little bits here and there and have settled into for the night.
A little while ago, I joined a Yahoo group in my area that is conjoined with Freecycle.org, a website designed basically around not just throwing everything away. It's like a garage sale without the actual money involved. Figured it would be a good way not only to get rid of some of my or the boys' excess belongings, but also eliminated the Goodwill money-making scheme as well. Maybe I'm just trying to up my karma (heh). So today we got rid of some toys the boys had cluttering up their room and I received some books. Pretty nifty.
We have a tradition on New Year's. We make donuts and other assorted bad-for-you goodies in the deep fryer, completely cover our table in these fabulous fried foods and just munch all evening. The only thing not fried this year was the shrimp cocktail I made. Just had a craving! We usher in the new year with a full tummy and considerable amounts of togetherness. I have added to that a bit this year by going to a local party supply place and getting little buzzers, party hats, poppers and zingers too. Trev and Ry are happy campers. I'm sure I'll be hearing the noisemakers for the next two months (or till they break, whichever happens first).
I'll be surprised if Ryan manages to stay alert until midnight, though. He typically tanks out by ten. Not such a bad thing, in light of the fact we're going to my aunt's tomorrow for our very last "Christmas". She didn't want to try to shove anymore into the actual holiday (not that we could have--we were busy too) so we opted for a New Year's Day get-together. Extra sleep can't hurt kiddos who have a busy day the next day.
***
Happy New Year, everyone.
N.

5:57 p.m. - 2005-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged