nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which my booty hates me, my son hates me and my cousin hates me. Can you feel the love?

My body is hating me tonight. I spent an hour at the Y tonight, half of it on the elliptical machine and my gluts are whining at me. I think this is the first time I've REALLY committed to making a healthier life change in regards to my eating habits and activity levels. I can certainly feel it, which leads me to believe that I'll see results before too long as well. Hurts so good...I always thought it was just a song.
Don't get me wrong---I'm not a big fan of sweating for the sake of it nor am I a pain lover but I'm going on 31. I think maybe it's time I took back some control and honestly, I'd like to be around to see my grandkids and be a FUN grandma.
So. My butt is KILLING me! Who'd have thought I'd like that?
***
Ryan stayed home from school today because he decided to upchuck his dinner last night. Yes, he decided. He's not ill, has no sickness. He's got one of those tummies that he can talk into vomiting just by thinking about it. And Boy Howdy! did he last night. Ry wasn't wanting to eat his dinner (tuna casserole--not my fave, either, but you eat what you have the money to make some days) and made that abundantly clear. Then, after dinner, as I'm downstairs in the basement putting in a load of laundry, I hear Trev squeal from upstairs, "EWWWWW! RYAN!!!" Yeah. I'd left Ryan sitting at the dinnertable, finishing up his homework and came back upstairs to see that he'd earped all over his handwriting book.
Now, keep in mind that Ry has an anal retentive teacher who most likely would not only refuse to replace the book but probably fail him as well in handwriting for not being able to finish his work if we tossed it. SO, being the frugal mom that I am, I used dish soap and hot water and washed the whole stinking thing. Then, I separated each and every page and placed paper towels in between so the pages wouldn't stick.
I asked Ry why he didn't hit the bathroom if he knew he had to get sick (he has never once tossed his cookies anywhere but the toilet--he's fastidious like that. Even as a tot he kept it to the bathroom.) and he smirked at me and said," I told you I didn't want tuna casserole".
I about blew my stack.
*sigh*
He stayed home today and spent the whole day in bed. Needless to say he wasn't overly happy with me. However, he needed to know that it wasn't going to be fun and games.
Joy and happiness.
***
The strange weather is continuing. It rained for a large part of the day and while chilly, it's much warmer than is typical for this time of year. There are predictions of snow for the end of the week, however. Maybe we'll be tossing snowballs by the weekend.
***
ThatCousin is tossing me for a loop. While spending large amounts of time whining to the public at large (literally! We went to the library and she was telling all this to a clerk there) that she's so broke she can't afford to feed her children and is worried that her utilities are going to be shut off, she's getting her hair done to the tune of $75 and buying newly released movies at $25 a pop. We spent some time talking and I asked her what her bills were like, thinking I could help her find some creative recipes or maybe find a way to help her cut corners a bit, seeing as I've spent a large part of my life doing exactly that. She's paying for cable connection for her computer, Sirius radio monthly, digital television (when she's already got cable run for the computer), a monthly appt. to get her hair done and nails as well...need I continue? When you're broke, you don't have those things. You find ways to downsize. And if you can't feed your children, how can you buy movies and if you can't pay your electric bill, why are you paying Sirius radio? I don't get it. And as much as I would like to help her, I'm blown away that she sees these things as necessity. On top of that, I listened to her talking to the lady in charge of Tater's old daycare and she literally said that she didn't want Tater attending public school this Fall because the kids who went to public school weren't her kind of people. She feels that Tater would benefit more from attending private school because she could make the sort of connections that will help her later in life! I was floored. I'm reminded how very much I dislike who my cousin is at this point. She's a different person than she was before Tater was born. I have been working at maintaining a distance from her and that's not going to change. I don't need to be around someone, even a family member, who thinks we're below her.
***
I'm beat. Off to bed for me.
Happy Wednesday.
N.

8:48 p.m. - 2006-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged