nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All I did was be a mom

Just a quick note about something Ry said to me the other morning.
We were going over his spelling list in the car on the way to school and he made it through the list with just one mistake. I told him I was very proud of him because some of these were fairly difficult words and I know it's not high on his list of priorities. I then shared with him that I'd won the county spelling bee when I was in 6th grade, beating out other sixth graders as well as 7th and 8th graders. I even promised to show him the trophy I had stashed away when he got home from school. He then asked if that was against my school and I had to explain that it was against students from all the schools in my county.
Ryan proceeds to look at me quizzically and says in his smartassed little way, "You beat a whole bunch of people in a spelling bee and all you did was be a mom?"
I laughed so hard I thought I was going to croak. Apparently being a mom is a waste of intelligence in his opinion.
Nice to know---can't wait to remind him of this when HE has kids!
Happy Thursday.
N.

9:19 p.m. - 2006-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged