nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I covet and also shake my head

Want to hear something funny?
I want something and it surprises me a little that I want it. I saw it advertised on television (usually I pay little to no attention to t.v. ads) and it appealed to me.
It's a 2 disk cd set containing Monster Ballads. Monster. Ballads. Yes, I love music. Yes, I love all kinds of music and certainly, some songs that might surprise people. Heck, I surprise myself sometimes.
The part that is unusual for me is that for some reason, I know just about all the songs listed on this cd set. And I never counted myself much of a metal head or really into that genre of music on a regular basis.
I really want these cd's though. Just need to amp myself up to spend $30 on myself. That's the part that'll take me forever. I just can't see spending that on music for me.
Funny, though. Now I've got Slaughter stuck in my head.
***
Yesterday's temps neared 60 here. It was lovely, Spring-like, sunny and warm and beautiful. Today? Today brought snow and wind and temps in the 20's. THAT's more like Ohio weather in January.
***
I'm watching figure skating. I know, I'm such a girl. BUT. This competition helps decide who's going to the Olympics in the Spring. I'm such a klutz, I'd probably break my ankle if I even attempted to think about getting on ice skates. Grace and I are like oil and water.
I love watching it, though. The skaters move so swiftly and elegantly. I've always wanted to go to an exhibition, just to see what it's like. The guys toss their partners like their pillows and how they manage to land those jumps...sheesh. It's like ballet on really sharp and narrow blades.
I think I missed something somewhere. Having lived most of my life in smaller towns, I think I missed out on some of the exposure I should have accomplished. I love ballet, can sit for hours watching. I've never been to a ballet, though. I love museums, love the air and the blanket of quiet that seems to encompass them. Yet, I've only been to a handful and none recently. I love music, love concerts of all kinds, love musicals, love plays. Exposure is limited in small towns.
Maybe that'll change as the boys get older. I might get some "me" time in there, somewhere. In the meantime, my creative soul gets increasingly more hungry.
***
ThatCousin called me tonight, wanting me to keep Pnut while she took Tater to the pool at the Y. First off, Pnut is sick and on antibiotics because they found Ecoli and Staph in her throat cultures that were taken during a cycle to determine if she has CF. ThatCousin should be staying home and taking care of her daughter and I don't really want my boys exposed to those nasties, thank you very much! Secondly, Tater shouldn't be anywhere near a pool---she was diagnosed yesterday with a fairly severe ear infection and strep throat. The last thing she needs is water in that ear. Sometimes I wonder where ThatCousin's head is at. I told her I'd be unable to keep Pnut and recommended she stay home and let the girls recover from their various illnesses. I doubt that's what occurred, however.
***
Happy Saturday, all. Hug your loved ones and pray they all stay healthy!
N.

8:19 p.m. - 2006-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged