nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grmph

It's been a tough weekend.
I should take that back. Friday was okay, filled to the brim with kids and noise and activity. It was the boys' school's Family Fun Night at the Y and while I wasn't a volunteer, I did hang around and drifted with the boys.
It went as it always has---fun for them, more than slightly chaotic and overflowing with chatter, noise and music. I was very glad to even just be in our van after, hearing nothing more than the noise from the boys talking and the gentle rumble of the engine. Then it was home and dinner and showers and bed. For each of us. I was under the covers in record time.
That's why my irritation and crankiness can't be blamed on lack of sleep.
Saturday I took the boys to the dollar theater and we saw Chicken Little. I think that was probably the high point of the whole weekend for me. Listening to Ry laugh his ass off.
That night and most of today, I was grumpy, with little patience and even less ambition to cheer up. I'm ashamed to say that I was short with the boys on more than one occasion. Some of it was deserved---they're going through a spurt of being highly disagreeable with each other and I'm damned tired of hearing them bickering. I try to stay out of it, for the most part, because I know they need to settle their battles on their own, if possible. Can't say that hearing some of the high-pitched squawking doesn't get on my nerves, though.
I made dinner and after getting them into bed tonight, I spent a nice, long, insulating time on the computer playing Pharaoh. I forgot how addictive it can be. Plays right into some hidden God complex I have, maybe.
And yes, even though they don't have school tomorrow, they were in bed by 9. Aren't I a mean mom?
***
I'm engrossed in Grey's Anatomy, per my normal Sunday night routine. And now we have McDreamy and McSteamy. *sigh* Why aren't there gorgeous guys like that in my hospital? Sheesh. I'd happily go see doctors then.
***
It's ridiculously cold here. That's certainly not helping my mood any. Hard for rambunctious boys to be cooped up and it's much, much too cold to even bundle up and try to be out in it. I'm going to take them swimming tomorrow but that just isn't getting here fast enough.
Bah. I'm going to curl into bed, watch the remainder of my show and try to think more upbeat thoughts.
Have a great week.
N. P.S. Can I just say HolyFrickin'Cow? Meredith. With. George. Who'da thunk it?? Yowza.

10:06 p.m. - 2006-02-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged