nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lessons

Dear AssMonkey from SaveTonsStore,
I want to thank you for your actions today. If I were a negative soul, I'd be very upset at the fact that you felt it necessary to humiliate me in front of twenty-some people over something as trivial as a few dollars. If I were determined to see only the worst in this situation, I'd be bitter about how you felt free to make the comments you did in front of my son, how not one of those twenty-some people said a word in defense and how I left shaking and near tears.
I'm trying to make a change, however. I'm trying to see the gifts that are delivered under cover of situations like this one.
Thank you, for showing my 8 yr old son an example of everything I've been trying to teach him NOT to be. Thank you, for allowing me an opportunity to be the bigger person (no pun intended) and turn the other cheek. Thank you, for presenting a time and a place for me to remind my son that it's better to walk away from a bully than to make a situation worse. Thank you, for reminding me that crass people with no manners DO exist and reminding me to be thankful for all the people who AREN'T that way. Thank you, for giving me something else to stress over so that I forgot all about the fact that I broke my glasses today and will have to pay out the wahzoo for a new pair. Thank you, for not-so-gently reinforcing my resolution that I need to lose weight, need to be more active, need to take more time for me. Thank you, for showing the other customers in that store that the non-skeletal people in the world have hearts and feelings and can be bruised without a touch of a finger. Thank you, for taking the attention away from the elderly cashier who accidentally rang up three loaves of bread too many and was having problems figuring out the refund amount (I'm sure I'm better equipped to handle your crap) and taking your frustration out on me. Thank you, for noticing that money IS important to me. In the past, dollars like those have been the only thing to feed my sons.
In case you can't tell, this isn't a snarky note. While I can't say that being called a "penny pinching cow" was the highlight of my day (amongst the other colorful terms you used), it was enlightening. It was an eye-opening experience. I'm glad to say that the majority of people I run into on a daily basis have grown up and evolved past the behaviors that saturated junior high school. I hope that, eventually, you're able to do the same.
Again, thank you for the covert blessings today.
N.

8:54 p.m. - 2006-04-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged