nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baseball and camping.

Trev starts ball practice on Tuesday. He's excited and so am I. Ryan doesn't start until May.
It's a precursor to Summer. Boys in white baseball pants, cleats clicking on the concrete as they walk towards their field, bat slung over a shoulder with their glove dangling from it. The smell of leather and the oil they've rubbed into it (yes, my boys have begun to oil their gloves), sweaty bodies after a rough-and-tumble practice...
and they're growing up so quickly. They both actually requested their own "cups" this year. It's apparently become clear to them both that it's ICKY to have a "group cup".
This year, they're on separate leagues. Trevor is in the Minors and Ry remains in Sluggers. He was a little put out by that, because in his head, the year and 2 month difference in their ages just doesn't exist. He sees himself as the same as Trev. I'm guilty of helping that along, I think. I've just always treated them alike.
The Indians home opener was yesterday and it was stupendous! Casey Blake had a grand slam, scored four runs and we beat the Twins like mad. What an outstanding way to begin a season. I'm really looking forward to catching a few games this Summer. Surprises me how I've taken to going to the Jake...amazing what you come to love when introducing boys to it!
***
Next week is Spring Break. My sister will be here as well. Because the weather is supposed to warm up (mid 60's WOOHOO), I'm hoping to get them out and about, on bikes and on the trails this next week. It will be good for me too, and maybe even GracieDog.
I'm also planning on digging into the yardwork that's needing done. I'd like to get the beds prepared for planting.
***
At some point in the first week of May, I'm taking the boys out of school for a few days. Terrible, right? I've talked to their teachers and have been reassured it won't get in the way of anything major. We're going camping. Four days, out in the middle of nowhere, sleeping in bags in tents, with a fire ring to cook on, cuddling up with the critters and enjoying just being away.
They can fish, I can take pictures to my heart's content and we can all relax and breathe.
I'm looking forward to it.
***
I'll be back later. Going to take the boys out to put flowers on my Grams' grave.
Happy weekend.
N.

3:44 p.m. - 2006-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged