nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bittersweet

Easter went well for the boys. They had a good time, received way more candy than I typically allow them to have and other assorted fun things too. We had an Easter egg hunt and they ended up hiding them for each other a time or two as well.
Good stuff.
***
Trev had a scrimmage tonight and I swear, I nearly froze. Initially, it looked like a nice, sunny day with just a few clouds here and there. There was a slight breeze blowing but nothing intolerable. I THOUGHT! We ended up at a field I hadn't been to before, that had absolutely nothing around it to break that breeze, which then picked up to quite a brisk pace and froze us all to the bone! We sat huddled in the back of my van, trying to stay warm and wishing like hell I'd brought blankets and jackets along!
For only having had a couple of practices prior to, the scrimmage went okay. Just goes to show the coach the areas that need some work.
He has another practice tomorrow night and Friday night as well.
***
Busy week ahead. Between baseball practices, Gramps, normal everyday things, working on the rocket ships for the Cub Scouts' Space Derby this Sunday, preparing for the M.0.D. W@lk Americ@ on Saturday and trying to get my house cleaned so I can sit for my sister on Saturday night, I'm going to be too pooped for words, I'm thinking.
***
The lilac bushes on either side of my house have not only burst out in these sweet green leaves but they've begun forming their blossoms as well. I can't wait. Soon, the air will be heavy with the smell of my lilacs and I'll be surrounded by purple flowers everywhere. That also means that I can cut some and take them out to my Grams' grave.
***
Thinking of Grams...this weekend we drove past a cemetery that had these small lights glowing all over and I realized they were those solar lights you can buy at Wally World. Then I realized I had tears streaming down my face and the most irrational thought crossed my mind...with a light like that, my Grams wouldn't have to be so deeply imbedded in the dark...
Realistically, I know it's a physical shell out there. That doesn't make the ache less. My first Easter, ever, without my Grams.
I miss her every day.
***
Happy Monday, all. I'm off to steep in a hot bath to shake off the chill.
N.

9:36 p.m. - 2006-04-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged