nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computers, camping and cooler temps.

I screwed up in a big way last night.
I was having trouble loading a page (Yahoo games) so I thought if I deleted the old downloaded program files related to Yahoo games, I might have more luck.
Delete away, I did. Screwed up my 'puter, I did. After deleting that particular bunch of stuff, I then couldn't access the "my computer" icon on my desktop, the "recycle bin" turned to an inaccessible folder...you name it, it was screwed. I tried restarting the computer only to find it having explorer errors that caused it to shut down before I ever got to the desktop.
It wasn't good.
I then spent a nice amount of time trying to remember the sequence to type into the DOS command to restore an older registry and for the life of me, couldn't remember. I tried everything under the sun!
Finally, after calling my cousin at nearly 11p.m. and having her look it up online, I was able to type in C:/>scanreg/restore.
Yep, that stupid little piece of nonsense DOS stuff completely fixed my boo boo. After putting that little piece in, it gave me the option of the last four registries and I picked the oldest. TA-DA! All better.
Fruity, these computers are.
Guess I learned my lesson! No more mass deletions.
***
American Idol isn't getting any easier. It's getting down to the nitty gritty. I love Elliott, love Taylor, love Katherine. I really would like to see Kelly and Ace go. I don't particularly like Paris but she's got an okay voice.
*sigh*
Too many favorites.
And where the heck was Grey's Anatomy this last weekend? Sheesh.
***
Trev had baseball practice again tonight. It was warmer this time than last but still...feels so much cooler than last season! He got up to bat and he's a challenge for the coaches because he's a true lefty. Everyone else on the team is a righty, with one boy catching and throwing as a righty but batting as a lefty. So when they're explaining things to the kids, they have to stop and remember to show Trev the "backwards" version of what they've just showed everyone else. It's a good thing, though, I think. Keeps them all on their toes!
I filled out paperwork for something called a campership, a scholarship of sorts for a camp near us. It's specifically geared towards helping kids build confidence and accepts mainstream kids and even kids, like Trev, who march to their own drummer. The liason seems to think the boys will qualify to be sponsored by a local group. I hope they do because I think it's something they'd enjoy greatly. I might be a little lost, though. A week without my boy-o's! I won't know what to do with myself.
Ah, well. I need to run the vacuum quick before everyone's in deep sleep!
Happy Tuesday.
N.

9:34 p.m. - 2006-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged