nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Better than expected

Hmm, well.
I got up really frickin' early, drove to a town I normally try to avoid and participated in the M.0.D.'s W@lk Americ@ today.
And I surprised myself, because I actually enjoyed it. I was all prepared to just do it for the sake of familial obligation. I had my head set on the idea that I was going to be tired, walking a distance of unknown proportions, dragging unwilling children along...all because I'd have felt guilty for turning ThatCousin down.
What actually happened was that I walked a mile (shorter route because of the kidlets) and enjoyed the time out and about. It WAS early but not so terribly early that I was cranky, and it was a gorgeous day. Beautiful and not-chilly-not-hot. The boys cooperated and Ry was the "mapper". He kept track of the route for us, told us when we needed to turn, etc. Trev just ogled houses and asked why there were so many boarded up and broken windows. I had an interesting time explaining that although they were in sad condition, people actually still lived in some of these houses.
After the walk, we had a hot dog and a drink and kicked back, watching others finish.
My aunt and uncle dug out their Spongebob and Patrick costumes they'd created for the Relay for Life last year and thrilled the smallish kids. ThatCousin made a speech which, sadly, didn't really rev the crowd much but brought her to tears.
All in all, it went alot better than I'd expected. Good cause, good exercise, good experience.
***
We barbecued this afternoon (YUM) and then spent some time tossing around a baseball. The boys are now chalking graffiti all over my driveway and I'm supposing I should go join them.
It FEELS like Spring, finally. Warm. Sunshine. Sweet smells in the air. Birds everywhere, singing their own private concertos.
Yay.
Happy Weekend, all. I'll be back tomorrow with the details about the boys' Space Derby.
N.

5:22 p.m. - 2006-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged