nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go, Go, speed mama!

Busy weekend.
Trev's ball practice was rained out on Friday. The coaches waited until the very last second to make that decision and Trevor was very disappointed. It seems to be the pattern, though. Tuesday of this week is supposed to be rainy as well and that's when the next practice is scheduled! Crazy.
Instead of practice, we puttered 'round the house, doing laundry and dishes and other assorted houseworkings. I (just call me Mean MOM!) made the boys clean out their drawers and help me mate socks. Then we all hunkered down for the night.
Saturday dawned early for us and away we went to the M.0.D.'s W@lk Americ@. I wasn't sure what to expect, this being the first year I've been involved but it went off pretty well. More people than I expected, and certainly more publicity. My aunt and uncle drug out the Spongebob/Patrick costumes they created for the Relay for Life and posed for pics (my cousin Jaymie took my aunt's place inside the Patrick). They even made it into a local paper. The boys walked with me and so we took the Buggy Brigade path (a mile long). It was a gorgeous day for a walk, sunny and warm without being TOO warm. It was beautiful.
ThatCousin got up and made a speech which ended with her in tears. It wasn't a bad speech but I heard mutterings from people who weren't family that it wasn't a time for an autobiography. She meant it to end on an inspirational note but that didn't happen, unfortunately. Overall, though, it gave a good message and she tried. That's what counts.
The boys had a blast. We spent most of our walk looking at the old houses along the route. There are some lovely homes, if someone would just put the money into them and fix them up. They've got the old ornate woodwork on the exterior of the homes, cupola rooms and long, winding walks framed by overgrown roses or lilacs. They're huge houses that have been split up into apartments and then left to wither.
Some even had broken out or boarded up windows, with people still living inside them. So sad.
We finished up and came home, to find a message from my Gramps, telling me he was out of toilet paper and M&M's. *sigh*
So. We ran those to him and set up our cookout. Yum. Love barbecue, love being outside. While the food cooked and the boys tossed a ball back and forth, I painted these tiny terra cotta flower pots in reds, blues, and whites, to be filled with votive candles. I'll take a picture this afternoon and show you all later. They turned out rather cute and I figured I'd give them to a few people for the 4th of July. I'm also amassing different holiday-decorated ones to give as gifts at Christmas. I have some family members that would get a hoot out of that. At any rate, I'm satisfying my "crafty" urges.
Sunday Trev and Ry had a Space Derby for Cub Scouts. This was not only our first time participating, it was also the troop's first year holding it. Faux pas' abounded. My poor boys...I forgot to notch the end and so their space ships sputtered to a stop in the middle of the course. *sigh* I'm so not a guy! How am I supposed to anticipate this stuff? One tiny detail and DOWN the drain it goes. BUT. We learned and will do better next year.
Last night was wonderful. It cooled down and was raining like mad. I fell asleep to the sounds of pounding rain on the roof, water dripping and running outside my cracked window, the smell of rain perfuming my room. It was relaxing. Definitely needed, as I spent the better part of yesterday with one of those headaches you wake up with that never quite go away.
***
Need to get my butt in gear this morning. I'm slacking.
Happy Monday all!
N.

8:17 a.m. - 2006-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged