nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Frusterated..

The third and fourth graders at my boys' school were supposed to go on a field trip to Cleveland this Friday.
Ryan came home with a note from his teacher today detailing why he would not be going. Ry's I-could-give-a-crap attitude in class, his time-management issues, his refusal to complete his work in a timely manner has caused him to be kept out of this trip.
He's very upset. I'm very upset, more because his choices led to this decision than anything else. Yes, I'd love to be able to sympathize with my son and while I do feel badly for him, I think this is a lesson for him. He was warned, several weeks back, that if he didn't work on reapplying himself to his education this would happen.
Somewhere along the lines, Ryan has come to think that he can skate through everything and come out just where he wants to be. Life isn't like that. It doesn't work that way.
I've worked hard to show them, by example, that nothing is handed to us, that we have to work our butts off to reap the rewards of fun. I think part of his problem is that everyone (except me) has always fallen prey to the "Ryan is cute" syndrome and let him slide. My aunts and cousins are notoriously bad about that---I correct him and they pooh-pooh it off. Drives me nuts.
And it's driving his ego to take the place of good sense.
Grrrrr...He's set for ADD tests the end of June. Trev's set for his psych. eval. next week. I think I'M! going to need meds before this is all over with.
It's still raining. Both practice and game were cancelled tonight, and I have to say that I'm relieved. I didn't relish the idea of being cold and wet. As it is, I'm chilled tonight and ready for bed.
And I'm grumpy. I'm out of good reading material and I'm not wanting to curl up with the television. A warm body (besides my dog) would be nice tonight...
wishful thinking.
Happy Tuesday.
N.

8:57 p.m. - 2006-05-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged