nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dramababy.

Gah. What a day.
I got to my Gramps' today and found that there were major happenings afoot. His dog, Pugsly, who's been with him for nearly 15 years (it's a Tibetan Spaniel but looks like a mix between a pug and a Shih Tzu) had awakened my Gramps this morning by screaming.
A dog...screaming. Just makes my skin crawl, especially knowing that this particular little dog hardly ever even barks. Gramps called my aunt who called my cousin who ran over and rushed Pugs to the vet (doesn't that all just flow right off my tongue and into your ear?). Diagnosis? At 14 yrs. old, Pugs has a slipped disc. He's got mobility and feeling in his back end still, which is a good sign and means he most likely won't have to have surgery that costs between $2000-$4000. Always good news. The vet's going to keep him for the next week or so, not only to observe but to give him the meds he needs as Gramps can't remember to take his own pills, let alone give the dog HIS.
Gramps was just in a tailspin. I don't know what we'll do or how we'll even handle telling him if Pugs has to be put down. To some people he may be "just a dog" but to my Gramps, it would be just as traumatic as losing my Grams was. He's still dealing with that. Hell, I'M still dealing with it and I'm a granddaughter. He spent 50 some years of his life with her.
At any rate, the dog is in a holding pattern and Gramps is okay for now. He was just shook up.
***
The rain is supposed to let up after Sunday. I'm glad for that. I'm ready for some sunshine. And my yard is ready for some weed-eating, weed-pulling, grass-mowing, flower-planting...yep. All the fun stuff.
The boys returned from their field trip today in one piece, if a little tired. My overprotective mom side can rest easy now that my babies aren't an hour away from me. They had a blast and managed to come home with everything they took along to keep themselves occupied on the bus ride. Yay for that.
***
I saw my older brother at the library yesterday. As bizarre as it sounds, I wasn't sure it was him at first and then I wasn't sure if I wanted to bring attention to the fact that I was there. How sad is that? Goes to show you how completely disconnected we are. My reluctance stems from the fact that I'm never sure what phase he's in---whether he's found God and sobriety again or whether he's drowning in his self-medication of drink and drugs. If it's the latter, I don't like to chance having my home broken into and having things stolen (yes, that's happened in the past) so I keep my distance. It's sad, though, because this's my brother we're talking about here. I seem to be the only one in my immediate family (mother, brothers) that has an interest in actually BEING a family. I did end up talking with him a bit. He's in his "clean" stage and I'm glad for that. He's swiftly heading towards 40. I'm hoping he can make the changes he wants to and make a better life for himself.
***
Tomorrow I'm taking the boys and two of their friends bowling. That's always fun and bumper lanes certainly don't hurt my crappy bowling scores any! I'm such a baby.
Have a great weekend!
N. P.s. Thank you for the lovely compliments about my furry beasties. If you pay close attention to that picture, you can see the tattoos in their ears, showing blue. Those tats are numbers that were assigned to them at the medical testing lab where I got them from. They're forever branded, poor babies.

10:38 p.m. - 2006-05-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged