nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jeesh! 4 whole days?

I've managed, yet again, to annoy TheOldBat next door. For Trevor's birthday, he received something called a "hit-a-way", sort of like a tetherball concept but for baseballs. We've got it set up on the old clothesline pole in the backyard. Trev goes out, hits the ball (which stays connected to the pole, never coming off of the two ropes it's attached to) and works on his hands-to-the-ball form.
Tonight, roughly around 7pm, with the sun still high in the sky and half the neighbors still rambling around, we're in the backyard, Trevor with bat in hand. With each smack of the bat on the practice ball, there's a metallic "ping!". He starts to build a rhythm, hitting the ball and letting it wind 'round the pole, then catching it with another hit as it unwinds from the pole.
I happen to catch movement out of the corner of my eye and TheOldBat is standing on her back porch, phone held up and in the air, apparently allowing someone else to hear the nice "plonk" noise coming from my son's bat connecting with said practice device. She mutters something and goes back inside her house, slamming the sliding door behind her.
Kind of irked me a bit because the way I see it, my kids' toys stay in our backyard, they're not hitting anything into hers, it's not hitting the fence, we're well within the barriers of our noise laws and they're KIDS, for Pete's sake! If you can't stand a little noise, MOVE!
I called my aunt, whom I'm land contracting the house from, to let her know in case a complaint is filed anywhere (and also in case TheOldBat calls her to complain, which has been done in the past). She simply said, after I explained the situ, that if she gets a call she'll ask TheOldBat if she's considered moving.
I think what aggravates me most is that BabyBeater's kids are constantly chasing balls into her yard, riding their bikes and scooters through it and she hasn't complained once.
What does she expect living next door to someone with boys?
*sigh*
***
It's been an eventful few days. I had ThatCousin's youngest daughter, Pnut, yesterday for nearly 12 hours. It went well, was decidedly different than it was when I'd kept Tater at around the same age. Everyone seems shocked to hear that I'd do it again, in a heartbeat. They have trouble keeping up with her---she's at that age where she's into everything. Sort of to be expected at 19 months old! I had a blast. She and Trev were connected at the hip. And she's a cuddler! It was lovely. Tater, at this age, was a screamer and a fit-thrower. You couldn't tell that girl no---she'd scream and stomp her feet and throw herself on the ground. No such trouble with Pnutty. It was fun.
Trev's game on Thursday got rained out, as well as having a tornado warning for hours. We had torrential downpours, to the point that we literally had a lake in our front yard because the storm drains couldn't hold the onslaught of water. It was crazy. The sky got this odd shade of yellow, like an old bruise. TheLyingWeathermen said that funnel clouds were reported in Woo-town and there were reports of tornadic activity south of us a bit but nothing too traumatic. We did, however, manage to squeeze in his baseball pics before they cancelled everything so that was a positive.
Tomorrow the boys get to march in the Memorial Day parade with their Scout troop. They're very excited. Both boys made a point of reminding me what the meaning of the day was. It's awesome to me to see them beginning to have an understanding and appreciation for the liberties that are afforded us here, things we so easily take for granted. We have so many members in our own family alone who have been a part of the military and it's touching to see the boys actually voicing a thanks to the ones still with us. They're growing up so quickly.
It's getting late and we have an early morning. I need to get off here and get my butt to bed. Because I decided to clean up the air conditioners and fans, our home is thanksfully nice and cool tonight---it was hotter than heck here today! Nearly 90 and tomorrow we're supposed to hit 90 or better. Ick! I'm okay with high 70's/real low 80's and after that, it just makes me lethargic.
Happy Sunday!
N.

10:40 p.m. - 2006-05-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged