nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Memorial Day 2006

Go read the newest entry at Outfoxed.diaryland.com.
It ties in with my entry tonight.
My boys, dressed to the nines in their little Scout uniforms, stood waiting with ants in their pants for the parade to begin this morning. It was hot by 9am, with the temps climbing as we stood there. It was exciting and somber at the same time. Picture small boys, excited to be participating in the parade, watching with wide eyes the veterans that are the whole reason for being out there. Whispered questions (Mom, was he in a war? Which one? What happened?) and comments (Look at his uniform! I want one like that. Why can't our army men have real clothes like that?) It was the boy version of dress-up, I guess. I can see in my sons the potential of what they may eventually be. I see that they have a love for all things military, as most boys do. They love to have stealth missions in the backyard, tunneling through the undergrowth on the back hill and playing for hours on end with their plastic green army men. Being in Scouts...it's like the minor leagues for what they may become in their futures. I know my sons, know that my odds of them NOT being in the military are slim to none. It runs in my family and it's something they are already voicing. And it's not that I am against them doing so...but as I said in a note at Outfoxed's, the heart beating in my chest, the one that loves my sons with everything inside me, is petrified of the negative consequences that might come with that path.
Still, today I was touched. The reverance and the maturity they showed while taking part in our local Memorial Day parade...it meant something to me. As I've said before, it's important to be grateful for what we have. And they're learning that.
Happy Memorial Day. Hug your vets.
N.

10:30 p.m. - 2006-05-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged