nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ryan's fight with the blacktop.

We're having the most lovely thunderstorm as I'm typing this, accompanied by a fireworks display of lightning and huge rolling rumbles of thunder so I'll keep this short.
Today was Field Day at the boys' school, a day that is organized strictly with parents to oversee, thus giving the teachers a bit of a break.
During the fun, my Ryan was climbing on the slide and managed to fall OFF. Face. First. Into the gravel on the playground.
His poor cheek looks, literally, like he was in a knock-down, drag-out fight and lost. He's bruised and beat up and sore as can be.
He's all boy---I expect that before it's all said and done and I get him grown, it may even get worse than just bruises. The part of this adventure that surprised me? No one knew a thing about it. I volunteered for the latter half of Field Day and his class had already finished with my spot (face painting). I didn't even see his face until I went to his classroom to collect him for the ride home. He fell, told one of the parents and that parent didn't even bother to tell the gym teacher who was on playground duty, didn't bother to get the kid ice....nada.
That sort of had me steaming a bit. I don't think I could hear a kid tell me he'd hit the playground face first and NOT offer ice of some sort, or at least notify someone who worked in the school.
Poor kiddo.
I took a picture (I always do of their "battle wounds", to show them when they're older) so I'll resize and post it when it's not quite so...electric outside!
Happy Wednesday, all.
More tomorrow.
N.

10:13 p.m. - 2006-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged