nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Grrness and gollywhopper storms

Last night, as I was reading my book, I kept catching this flickering out of the corner of my eye. I finally got off the couch and opened the front door. There was this beautiful lightning show, a constant flashing and with the most illuminating lights. It was gorgeous and obviously a distance off because there wasn't any thunder to be heard, at least at that point. There was next to no wind and just this amazing...calm. Our area had been under severe thunderstorm warnings for the evening so I knew this was literally the calm before the storm. The storms that followed were fierce and filled with high winds, torrential rains and thunder theatrics galore. Lovely. Today was more of the same. Areas north of us flooded and literally had feet of water covering their streets and byways. It split one town completely in half, north and south with no way to travel across the divide except by boat. Their spillway was overflowing and the river there hadn't flooded that way since 1969. Tough situation.
It was hot today and humid. Those sorts of conditions leave me limp and lethargic. It's hard to not be irritable and grumpy. My patience just seems to evaporate into the air.
I tried, though.
***
I've got something negative wriggling inside my head tonight, like a worm digging into a bruise on an otherwise just fine apple. I'm not sure if it's a carryover from my grrrness today or what the deal is but I'm steadily burrowing into a nasty mood. It's like someone has taken watercolors and swiped my evening hours with a tint of black. I'm thinking I'm better off closing this down and going to bed, hoping tomorrow will bring the fresh slate it always does. Sounds like a good idea.
G'nite.
N.

9:32 p.m. - 2006-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged