nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Productivity, pain and parental pouting

I managed to get caught up on my laundry this weekend, avoided the crazy neighbors up the street, spent alot of time slumming around the yard and the house and managed to pierce the sole of my foot with a big ole chunk of wood.
It was productive, minus the foot-piercing and I'm left feeling satisfied that I got everything I wanted done.
My cousin had a grad party this weekend but we didn't go---I have a card for him and I'll drop that off with a smidge of cash included later this week. I just had alot to do. My yard looks better than I think it ever has and I'm proud of that. I cut back the shrubs in the side yard, demolished the poison ivy patch hiding there, trimmed back the wisteria and pulled random branches out of the lilacs (put there by last week's storms). I've got one boy leaving for camp tomorrow afternoon so laundry was a must and we got most of the packing done today.
My foot is really sore. I stepped backward, to avoid tripping over Gracie and brought my bare foot down on a tapered larger-sized piece of mulching. It was thicker than a pencil and it went a good inch and a half into my foot. I had to hop over to the porch, cussing all the way, sat down on the step and pulled it out. My poor foot started bleeding immediately. I was surprised, actually, by how much it hurt! I go barefoot frequently and have to say my feet show it. Unfortunately, the wood went into the arch of my foot, a fairly tender area. It's been sore all day and after my shower this evening, I looked at it. It's bruised and a little swollen and has an obvious puncture to it. Lovely.
***
I called my mother to let her know the hours I kept my sister this last week. She's had a rough weekend-she called yesterday, tipsy and overwrought because her s.o. had butchered all the trees around her house. He'd taken a chain saw and not only taken off the tops of the pine trees, but for some reason taken off the whole side of another and removed the branches on others till it looked like toothpicks standing near the house. He'd also left all the limbs lying around the house, with beer cans sprinkled in for effect. She was not a happy camper.
Tonight, she was very obviously drunk as a skunk and peeved because her dog Buddy (who is known to nip at kids and is the one who nearly took a bite out of Ry) nipped at a kid tonight. He's not a dog that should be around kids, he nips and growls and literally knocks them to the ground and not in a playful manner! Her s.o. wants to put him down. He says that since the dog has been in obediance training and is still nipping and biting and not listening, that there's no recourse. My mother is resentful and refuses, saying he just needs socialized and if that doesn't work (which it won't because she never does what she says she's going to do so he'll continue biting kids) then she'll just crate him whenever kids are around.
I wasn't going to argue with her. I personally think the dog is a biter and isn't going to be safe no matter what she does. He's an agressive dog even when he's not biting. And honestly, he's going to bite someone and she's going to be in a world of trouble. Her choice, though.
Needless to say, she was in a state and I managed to get off the phone fairly quickly. I hate that part of having a family like mine, hate that she feels it's okay to call me drunk and crying. I know how very heartless that sounds but I've SO had my fill and I'm ready to have a nice boring life now.
***
I had other things I wanted to write about but of course they've flown the coop now. Happy weekend!
N.

10:20 p.m. - 2006-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged