nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trev goes to camp and then there were fireworks

Yesterday I took Trev to camp. It's a nice camp, not too far from our home but far enough that he feels like he's completely away from us. They specialize in kids like Trev, kids who might not otherwise be given the opportunity to go because of their behaviors, etc.
It was raining off and on but nothing intolerable. We headed up to the lodge, got the okay from the camp nurse to meet up with a counselor and head for his cabin. I'm sure it was laughable watching us dodge puddles while lugging a huge duffel, two pillows and his sleeping bag. I unrolled his bag onto his bunk, got his things stowed underneath and then turned to see my boy chomping at the bit to get started on his experiences there. It was awesome to see, in alot of ways. He gave Ry a hug and ruffled his hair. Then came my hug and a very quick peck because he's at that age where it's not cool to kiss your mother goodbye. And then off he went with his counselor, never once turning to look behind him.
In spite of all my best intentions, I welled up as we drove away.
I'm proud that he was able to walk away with that sort of confidence. I was worried, prior to, that he would be uneasy---this is, after all, the very first time he's been away from home for longer than an overnight. I'm happy that he's getting this opportunity. I know he's going to have a blast. I know they'll keep him safe. I also know that this is another step away from me, a step that helps him mature and grow and come one step closer to the man he's going to become before I know it. He's always been the one who needed me most.
It was bittersweet.
If I'm tearing up over something so small as a week of summer camp, Lord knows what it'll be like with his driver's license, the prom and graduation!
I'm looking forward to his impressions on Saturday.
***
Ry and I saw fireworks last night. The drizzle let up a few hours prior to so we were able to find our spot and not be drenched while waiting. They were beautiful, as always and we got home and in bed before midnight.
This morning we got up at the butt crack of dawn and went fishing. Not my favorite activity but I wanted him to have some special time since Trev's gone. It poured but we stayed out until around noonish then came home and slugged 'round the house.
Gotta love quiet days.
All in all, a pleasant Independence Day.
Happy 4th!
N.

6:34 p.m. - 2006-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged