nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nothing wrong with a second second-place trophy

Trev's absolutely final game was tonight and they lost but you'd have never known it by the expressions on their faces. His team was over the moon to get a second trophy for the season, excited to have played such a close game (lost by one point) and really proud because they fought hard for their progress in that game.
It was a wonderful moment. My Trev actually SWUNG AT THE BALL and hit it, each of the two times he was up to bat tonight. I had told him I'd pay him $20 just to stay in the batter's box (he's gotten timid and afraid of being hit, so was backing out of the box frequently). He earned his money and more importantly, his own self confidence. He was positively glowing.
Saturday starts Ry's tournaments. Let's hope he's as pleased with himself.
The last week has been ungodly hot and I've spent a large majority of it hibernating in our a.c. Heat to that degree just wipes me out. I can say that my house is clean!! That's a good thing.
***
ThatCousin has found God (again). She was raised Catholic but has decided to devote her life to God, although a non-denominational one. I hope, for her sake, that this brings her some version of peace and sanity but I'm afraid that it's like lots else in her life has been---a flighty thing that lasts for a few months and is passed by. Either way, it's not my place to judge her. I just hope this church she's chosen isn't some cult-ish place.
***
My sister is growing in leaps and bounds. For that matter, so are my boys. Trev seems to have just sprouted this summer. I don't know where the time has gone. I say this every summer but it's true. We have a month left until school starts and I'm amazed by how the time has flown. LilSis is keeping up with Trevor in the height dept. but she's slimming way down, making her look almost ethereal in her thin stature. Trev is slimming down as well but is getting that gangly young man look.
Ryan has chunked up, in the way that kids do before they hit a decent growth spurt. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
Gah. I had more to say but my fingers are tired. More tomorrow.
Happy Thursday!
N.

9:06 p.m. - 2006-07-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged