nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is why I love living here

I was just treated to a beautiful sight. I've mentioned before that the deer in our area seem to love our backyard, attracted by the grape vines that wind their way around the perimeter of the property, the apple tree that has somehow managed to thrive on my back hill, the odds and ends berries that pepper throughout the foliage. There was a movement caught out of the corner of my eye and I glanced out my bedroom window, attention riveted on two slim does. They weren't very old, one all legs and knobby knees. They had the most gorgeous brown sugar coats, smooth and dappled with white here and there. The older of the two picked her way around our pool, darted between it and the trampoline and then slowly made her way to the apple tree. She began picking small ones with her teeth, off the branches that hung low to the ground. The younger of the duo stood a ways back, ears twitching and looking as skittish as it gets. I stood for a minute, just enjoying the picture they made and then had to laugh as the smaller girl caught wind of something and jumped straight up into the air. This sent the other running up the hill and little sister followed close behind.
They were so pretty, and it never fails to amaze me that they get that close to my home. I remember reading Bambi as a kid and the pictures I drew in my head were exactly what I had in my backyard tonight. Graceful, quick and strong while looking so fragile and delicate.
N.

8:55 p.m. - 2006-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged