nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm starving...for books.

I've been on this kick lately in my choice of reading materials. I'm notorious for my eclectic tastes in books and this isn't far removed.
It's very typical to find me engrossed in more than one book at a time, as well. My home is littered with stacks of books, book shelves and misc. books peppering odd places. Currently, I've filled all my book shelves, have books stacked in my bedroom against the wall, lining the hearth of the fireplace, sitting on top of the tank of the toilet, in each drawer of my dresser, leaking out from under my bed, bookending my stereo in the living room...are you getting the picture? Typically, when things get this out of hand, I'll do an inventory to sort which ones I want to keep and which I'd be willing to part with (can't keep them ALL, unfortunately. I wouldn't have anywhere to live and then I'd be like those crazy old cat ladies you see on Animal Planet Cops where they've got pathways...ok. Never mind.)
And when I've made my choices, I'll pack up the able-to-be-given-up ones and lug them over to Woo-town to a used bookstore on their main drag. There, the nice ladies give me a quarter credit for every book they choose to accept, with which I can then pick books that are priced three times that amount. So, in essence, I have to turn in three books to cover the price of one there. Sort of a gip, if you ask me and expect an honest answer but...when you're drowing in paperbacks and hardbacks alike, you have to do SOMETHING.
I used to trade off with FavoriteCoworker at the p.d. but since we no longer see each other, that's not an option.
Where was I? Oh, yes. My current reading tangent.
I'm obsessed with all things vamp/were/witchy. I've devoured the Kelley Armstrong books, enjoyed the Kim Harrison series, have even tried Laurell K. Hamilton on for size (I'm not overly fond of hers...not sure why). I absolutely LERRRRRRRVE Charlaine Harris' Dead series. And I'm running out of authors! A problem I've run into on more than one occasion is that when I find someone I enjoy reading, they don't write NEARLY fast enough for me. I'm sure I'm not that only complainant!
To this point, I'd been on what I call my "dead person" kick---I've always read, for as long as I've been allowed to check books out from the adult section in a library (at roughly age 9) true crime and the like. I've been mixing that up a bit with some thrillers, murder mysteries, and some assorted fluff-trying-to-pass-as-a-mystery, not to mention the normal non-fiction, biographical and young adult fiction (yes, I read that too---I have up and coming tweens, thank you very much!) Out of nowhere comes this new love of mine and I'm fast running out of material.
*sigh*
Suggestions are always welcome!
Happy Tuesday.
N.

10:28 p.m. - 2006-08-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged