nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eve of the first day of school and wistful thoughts

It's here, it's here, it's here. I cannot believe tomorrow is the first day of school! I still don't feel prepared, even after going over and over and over my numerous lists. We're all set, as long as I don't oversleep in the morning! We should be good to go. Just doesn't feel like it's time.
Tonight was the Open House, where the kids can take their supplies in, find their desks, get things situated without having to lug everything in tomorrow. I met with the teachers, talked for just a few seconds with Trev's teacher (first impression of her was not terribly negative but not overly positive either) and was basically told to write anything I had to say into the paperwork she was sending home. I'm not real sure how I feel about that---I firmly believe that communication between parent and teacher needs to be open and freeflowing, regardless of content or compatibility. I don't know if I'm feeling that with her, just yet. I'm keeping my fingers crossed it'll happen. Positive Mental Attitude can make all the difference, even if it's just my own!
At any rate, they now know where their rooms are, have met their teachers at least and are feeling a little more confident going into their first day. I also managed to get my little sister to HER open house as well and in good time. I was SuperMom/Sis tonight!
Everyone's snuggled into bed now, sleeping soundly. I had them pick out their clothes, have packed lunches already, everything's in Go mode for the morning...listening to them sleeping is a gift. I remember when they were babies, standing and watching them just so I knew they were breathing. Little legs tucked under their tummies, head to the side, diapered bottoms hunched up into the air...they were so sweet. Now they sprawl, like the young men they are, limbs here, there and everywhere. In Trevor's case, he wraps up like a burrito in his blanket and all you see is the white blonde hair on the top of his head poking out. Ryan is the opposite. He's always kicking off his comforter, an active sleeper who can't seem to stay in one spot for any length of time.
Sometimes they mutter, sometimes it's perfectly silent in the room they share. I love to hear them breathing deeply, completely immersed in whatever thoughts their brains are still processing from the day, filtering into dreams. My sweet boys are going to be boys much longer. We're rapidly entering the 'tween stage and already I see signs---Trev doesn't want a hug unless he's ready for the hug and any other time gets me shoved away or dodged. Ryan is incredibly opinionated and while intelligent, needs to learn the tact and humility to admit when he's wrong. He can be SO adamant about things...
So fast this time is going. So quickly I seem to meet new pieces of them and lose some of the old.
How swiftly they're changing...
Happy Monday.
N.

9:59 p.m. - 2006-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged