nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Successful first day and bits and pieces

First Day jitters were overcome and it seems that everything went well. The boys came home with smiling faces and no bad stories thus leaving their mother content that things went, at least, fairly smoothly.
For them anyway! I set the alarms last night and apparently shut them off this morning. I don't recall doing so but they were off. Thankfully, I woke up before we were in any real danger of being late! Meltdowns avoided.
***
It has rained a decent amount here in the last couple days and I've enjoyed it immensely. My lawn badly needed the rain as it's brown and ouchie-looking. And honestly, I think I needed the rain. I'm coming to terms with the fact that I'm not a person who can stand sunshine 24-7, 365 days a year. I very obviously was not meant to live in Sunny Cali---I need not only my changing seasons but also my changing weather patterns to maintain any sort of normalcy or even temper. Rain has always been beautiful to me, whether as a torrential storm lit up with lightning and soundtracked with thunder or just a gentle drizzle that colors the whole world in shades of grey and black. Maybe it appeals to my melancholy side, maybe it's a change of pace...who knows? I can't even pretend to fathom it but it's there and it's real. And so, with our rain, my lawn can get happy again and so can I.
***
My almost-stepbrother A is supposed to be moving back up from Florida. I'm surprised by this news because, per the norm, when he left for Orlando, he was violating his probation and had charges hanging over his head (the extent of which I'm not 100% sure). He must have been homeless again for him to even contemplate living back up here again and facing getting picked up yet again.
I did notice that my mother avoided mentioning this situation and I found out only because my little sister commented. She's happy because he'll apparently be staying with them, something that yet again blows me away.
Whatever. Not my life to live, I guess.
***
Happy Tuesday. How come it still feels like Monday?
N.

6:09 p.m. - 2006-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged