nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bees suck

It's been one of those days. A day filled with aggravation and irritation and just plain grumpiness. I hate days like this, especially when surrounded by people who don't seem to believe that a person is allowed to have a bad day. Apparently, I'm supposed to be Miss Suzy Sunshine day in and day out with never a moment anywhere in the midst where I'm just burnt out, fried and growly.
And yes, Virginia, today was one of those days.
After having just an overall not-so-good day, I came home and decided to use my frustrated energy to my benefit---having finally gotten my mower up and running again, I decided to mow the lawn. TheOldBat next door has chopped her grass three times to my one so it's time, right? Mowing along, burning off some steam, completely done with the front lawn and simply getting the strip that is between my driveway and her lawn...wearing a pair of sandals, of course, because that's what I always mow in. I feel something similar to the sting of a branch smacking my ankle but when I look down, I don't see a branch. I see a foot covered in yellow jackets. I managed, somehow, to mow right over a yellow jacket nest that has been built into a hole in the ground in a spot that never had yellow jackets before. And because I have a very loud mower, it irritated the bees, causing them to have a really bad afternoon and they took it out on me. I yelped, kicked off my sandal and ran backwards, dislodging bees as I wiggled my foot furiously, still yelping and (I'm sure) helping the entire neighborhood to a taste of the hokey-pokey, Nikki-style.
I ended up completely covering my ankle and the top of my foot with baking soda, limping back outside to retrieve my sandal and the mower (after finishing the last tiny little strip I'd missed while tangoing with the yellow jackets) and trundled over to TheOldBat's house because I figure the last thing I need is to come home someday and see her lying in the sideyard, dead of a gazillion beestings because I forgot to warn her.
Grand total of 8 stings to my ankle/top-o-foot area. I haven't had a sting in years, probably since I was the boys' age or so. I forgot how much of a pain in the ass they can be. I'm all itchy and swelly and red and burny...it just sucks. I took Benadryl but not till just a while ago (because I'm a dumbass) so there was damage already done. My ankle is all misshapen swollen. I'm sure it'll be just gorgeous in the morning.
*sigh*
I think I need to take my bad attitude and grumpy ways to bed and hope tomorrow truly does dawn with a clean slate.
Happy flippin' Wednesday.
N.

9:47 p.m. - 2006-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged