nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do I smell like pollen?

Apparently I was not meant to have only one day where I danced with bees.
Yesterday, I made a quick trip into the grocery store to pick up a couple things and as I'm standing in the checkout line, I feel a tickle. Now, for whatever reason, this particular grocery store decided to put up a huge display of chrysanthemums right next to where I was standing. I glanced at them, thought "No thanks" and waited my turn.
Until I felt the tickle. Looking down, I promptly dropped everything I had in my hands on the floor and did yet another rendition of the hokey-pokey, Nikki style. The lady in line behind me started laughing her ass off and I gave a sheepish shrug once I had my wits back together and was gathering my stuff.
There was a stinkin' yellow jacket crawling across my palm!!!
I just kept thinking there was no way in hell I was going to deal with the insane itching on the palm of my hand---it's been bad enough on my ankle!
Thankfully, I dodged the sting on that one.
Came home, dumped more Sevindust down the bee-hole in the side yard and was heading back up the stairs on my front porch when I noticed several more yellowjackets landing on the railing, then crawling under. I hung upside down so I could see under the railing and sure enough, the fuckers are part of a nice sized nest under there too!
Unhappy was not the word I'd use to describe my feelings at that find.
It occurred to me that Autumn is coming, really damned quick. Between all the recent activity with bees, the flying of geese overhead and the really cool temps we've been having, I'm thinking it'll be here sooner than anyone thinks. Logic then says that it'll be followed by a fairly quick Winter, as well.
We shall see. I'm beginning to think I'm a better predictor of weather patterns than TheLyingWeathermen.
Happy Friday, all.
N.

4:42 p.m. - 2006-09-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged