nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blather

Life. It's quieting down a bit, smoothing out the wrinkles. I'm glad for that. ThatCousin and her hubby are apparently going to work things out. I think she was half afraid to tell me. Not 100% sure why since she'll get no judgement from me but I've got an idea it's because of all the drama she drummed up over the whole situation. She literally called one member of each of our respective families (each aunt and the occasional cousin as well as my unmarried uncle) and told everyone it was done, over, finito and cried her heart out to each of us.
Understandably, at the idea of a marriage being over and with children involved, she's going to be upset. I think maybe she took it farther than she's comfortable with now, though, because now that's it resolving, she's not calling a soul. I got the idea when I spoke with her that she's a little embarassed to have made such a huge deal about it, only to patch it all up.
My thoughts are that she has to make decisions that make the most sense for her and her family. I think it's a temporary fix (neither is seeking any sort of counseling or marriage therapy and basically seem to have agreed to ignore the whole episode) but I'm not judging.
***
The last several days have been downright COLD here. I've Winterized my yard and have taken down the air conditioners. I even turned the heater in the living room on low last night! I'm not looking forward to my electric bills once it's a constant thing.
The entire house is heated by electric baseboard heat---not the most economical way to heat a house. Plus, it's a house that needs weather-proofed in a big way! When the wind blows hard, you can see the curtains moving, even when I've closed the storm windows. It's just not sealed well, nor insulated well so it doesn't stay warm for long! Thus in winter months, my electric bill skyrockets to nearly $300 a month! Not something a family on a budget manages well.
The only heaters I turn on in the cooler months are the one in the living room, one in the basement where the washer is so the pipes don't freeze and one in the farthest room at the back of the house because it's all windows and loses heat like it's open air. The boys' bedrooms, mine, the bathroom and kitchen stay frigid!
***
Both boys had birthday parties to attend this weekend. They both had a blast---I'd have enjoyed it more if they were on the same night, at the same time. I could have steam-cleaned my carpets! I'm so boring.
Happy Monday, all.
N.

6:49 a.m. - 2006-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged