nixtress's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekendy goodness

The boys and I had a pretty decent weekend. I got a ton of housework accomplished on Friday night. Laundry was completely caught up and the house was spitspot. We spent most of Saturday slumming around the house and just being bums. It was heavenly. Saturday night, out of the blue, I was invited to go to the Haunted Reformatory at the old Mansfield Reformatory. I was pretty pumped, not only because I absolutely LOOOOOOVVVVE Halloween but also because in my 31 years on this Earth, I've never once gone to a haunted house or haunted anything around Halloween. My aunt agreed to watch the boys for a couple of hours and away I went.
The Mansfield Reformatory is an actual prison that was open and functioning until about 1990, when they shut it down rather than update some of the areas that weren't up to code. They subsequently built a newer prison on an adjacent site, that around here is called MANCI. A few years ago, a preservation society was formed to try and keep the historical value in the Reformatory intact. They hold tours all through the Summer months and near Halloween have not only ghost tours at night but ghost hunts, where you get to wander the prison at will armed with a flashlight from sundown till sunup for the bargain price of $50 a head. (I would SO love to do that!!)
The Haunted Reformatory is one of those typical haunted house-y things where they do their best to scare the bejesus out of you in the span of a 20 minute tour.
I was highly looking forward to it.
Unfortunately, once we got there, we found that the line was worse than you typically find at amusement parks for roller coasters! All kidding aside, it was packed and the line wove around and down and all over. We got there at 10 pm and they close up at midnight. We stood in line for an hour and didn't even hit the halfway point. After much discussion, we all agreed that there was no way the line was going to funnel through before they closed for the night and therefore, we weren't getting in. The bizarre part is that people just kept coming! It was insane. Having never attended something like this, I didn't realize it would be so chaotic.
I was disappointed. Gave me the grumpies. So instead, after a decent dinner, it was home and to bed.
Sunday we went to the pumpkin farm, which was fun. I think the boys spent 45 minutes just searching for the perfect pumpkins! They had this cool thing this year, called the Pumpkin Pulverizer which was like a giant pumpkin slingshot. Ry and Trev both managed to send a pumpkin straight into the midst oa huge hay mow and won free ice cream. Talk about happy kids! I got a cute picture of Trev trying to haul back the slingshot. Ryan was too stinking short to be seen beside the guy who had to help him pull it back! I was half afraid he'd go off with the pumpkin. (hehe)
All in all, not a bad weekend.
***
ThatCousin is BACK, yet again, with her husband. I've come to the conclusion that I'm going to let things go in one ear and out the other. I can't judge her---I know that each person has to live as best they see fit. I get very tired of the drama of it all, though. The middle of the night calls where she's sobbing because she's just sure it's all over and then two days over, she calls me to tell me they're having "text sex" and everything's just fine. It's draining.
***
School conference are fast approaching. Keeping my fingers crossed!
Happy Monday, all.
Off to try to find horror movies!
N.

8:40 p.m. - 2006-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

boxx9000
sixweasels
la-the-sage
singledadguy
nmnohr
Batten
myownjourney
nicim
swimmmer72
stwig
thunderstorm
lerin
theflyingrat
ochweidnit
selaith
rugged